LibGuides: Linguistics and English Language: Finding Articles

Finding journal articles in OneSearch

Find online journal articles by using OneSearch

Screenshot of the OneSearch search bar

Choose the 'Articles and More' search mode or search 'Everything' and refine your results to articles later. Enter keywords to describe the subject you are researching or details of the specific article you are looking for.

Have a look at this video to see how to find a specific journal article.

Finding journal articles in databases

Databases are collections of journal articles and other resources. You can use these to extend and refine your search as not all journal articles are included in the OneSearch index.

Databases enable you to construct a more complex search and have advanced functionality which help you to find and organise relevant material.

Most article databases contain the full text of articles, but some are indexing/abstracting/bibliographic databases containing details of journal articles. Click on Find It icon to see if the full text is available. We do not have access to all articles in in indexing databases.

Subject databases for Linguistics and English Language

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full text database that includes peer-reviewed academic journals as well as general magazines and news sources.
The database contains full text for more than 10,000 journals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in the visual and applied arts.
Subject coverage includes: literature, art, philosophy, linguistics, architecture, history, social sciences, humanities, music, design, photography, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to research in linguistics and language development.
MLA International Bibliography with full text This link opens in a new window
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Reliable source of high quality content in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Psychological Association (APA), this database contains millions of abstracts, citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, dating back to the 1600s.
Web of Science (All Subjects) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the content of scholarly material published on the Web and in electronic books and journals.

Information on how to link to the full-text of articles via Google Scholar is available here.