LibGuides: Clinical Psychology: Getting Started

The default search in OneSearch is Everything. You can change this to Books and more, Articles and more or Full text online once you have run your search.

OneSearch tutorial

This interactive online tutorial: Getting started with OneSearch will help you get started using the Library's discovery tool.

At the end of this course, you will:

Know what OneSearch is and why you should use it
Be able to sign in and use OneSearch when off-campus
Be able to use OneSearch to find and read an ebook
Be able to use OneSearch to find and read an academic journal article

Cite Them Right

At Lancaster you have access to Cite Them Right : the essential guide to referencing and plagiarism.

Cite Them Right covers the range of referencing styles which can be used including

Chicago, Harvard, OSCOLA, APA, IEEE, MLA, Vancouver and MHRA.

APPs for doctors, patients and anatomy students

NHS Choices - Health apps for patients

Meharry Medical College in the USA provides up-to-date information on paid-for and free apps for medical students, doctors and patients.

ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
Search or browse 85,000 images from medical textbooks. Very useful for revision.

We asked 104 first year Lancaster med students which apps, websites and podcasts they use? Here are their responses!

Leisure Reading

Psychiatric Tales

Psychiatric Tales draws on Darryl Cunningham's time working in a psychiatric ward to give a reasoned and sympathetic look into the world of mental illness. In each chapter, Cunningham explores a different mental health problem, using evocative imagery to describe the experience of mental illness, both from the point of view of those beset by illness and their friends and relatives.

Psychedelic Revolutionaries

In the early years of this psychopharmacological revolution, hallucinogens such as mescaline and LSD played as much of a role as other psychotropics. In fact, psychedelics constituted a scientific revolution in their own right, one that does not however fit the narrative of twentieth century scientific history.

The Bad Doctor

Cartoonist and doctor Ian Williams takes his stethoscope to Dr Iwan James, a rural GP in need of more than a little care himself.

Lighter Than My Shadow

A poignant, heart-lifting graphic memoir about anorexia, eating disorders and the journey to recovery.

50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology

50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology uses popular myths as a vehicle for helping students and laypersons to distinguish science from pseudoscience.

Finding articles

Learn how to find articles from OneSearch and the top databases in your subject area.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the recommended database for Clinical Psychology. Created by the American Psychological Association (APA), this database contains millions of abstracts, citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, dating back to the 1600s.