LibGuides: Computing and Communications: Finding books and eBooks

Using OneSearch to search around your topic

Whilst many of us continue to study and work from home, OneSearch has been configured to search electronic collections only.

You can change this filter once you have performed your search - the usual options 'Books & More', 'Articles & More' and 'Everything' are available in the drop-down.

How to find ebooks in OneSearch

To find out how to find ebooks within OneSearch have a look at the short video tutorial below

Well-Being and Leisure Reading Collections

The library has a growing collection of leisure and well-being titles.

In the library you'll find print titles at the beginning of the sequence on A-Floor and displayed on stands in the central atrium. You can also search OneSearch using the keywords LeisureReadingLU or WellbeingLU to view titles that are available in these collections, whether they be available in print or electronically.

We also have a specially curated online resource list linking to well-being titles.

Computing ebook collections

Most of your modules will have a resource list to help you find out more about your subject, and your tutors will guide you in what you need to read and when. Look for the green jigsaw icon in moodle.

Listed below are some of the eBook collections which focus on Computing and related topics that you may find useful for your studies.

To find out more about finding and using eBooks, have a look at the eBook guide, which provides guidance in using the different eBook platforms.

IEEE Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of books in the fields of electrical and computer engineering published under the Wiley-IEEE Press imprint.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks on Engineering and related topics.
Knovel’s content includes more than 120,000 interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel or PTC’s Mathcad.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
New developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching
Please note, we don't have access to all titles in this series
MIT Computing & Engineering eBooks This link opens in a new window
Titles published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) between 2015 and 2019 in computer science and engineering technologies
Morgan & Claypool Engineering & Computer Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic books (or lectures) focusing on engineering and computer science.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy.
Please note: You no longer need to sign in with your e-mail address to access this resource
The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books.

Finding Computing books in the Library

Books are organised by classmark within each major subject area. Here are the key classmarks for Computing and Communications.

Subject	Classmark
Communication systems	UNOP
Computer games	AZSM
Computer graphics	AZV
Computer programming	AZI
Computing	AZ
Control engineering	UOX
Cyberculture	AZAB
Digital Copyright	SN112.6
E-Learning	JIYC
IT Law	SN347
Mobile communications	UNOS
Operational research	AYL
Programming languages	AZK
Technology and society	KDR
Telecommunications	UNOP
VLEs	JUJ
Virtual reality	AZT
Wireless/mobile computing	AZAH

The books are arranged on the shelf in the following order:

Capitals	AZ
Numbers	AZAB7
Stops	AZKF.C1
Lower case	KDRvaa

Numbers are ordered decimally 1, 11, 2, 21, 3