LibGuides: Business and Management: Finding Market Research Reports & Company Information

Market Research Reports and Company Information

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers published by Euromonitor.
GlobalData Explorer (previously Marketline ) This link opens in a new window
Explore, track and compare industries, economies and companies all on one platform.
GlobalData Explorer is an extension to our MarketLine subscription, that provides additional coverage and insight into companies, markets, and industries across the globe. Key benefits include coverage of 22 sectors and 120 sub-sectors; 15,000 reports; 700,000 company profiles; and 28 million datapoints.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
In-depth industry research and reports for the US, UK, Australia, Europe and beyond. Track company performance, strategy and financial data with interactive graphs and charts plus 5-year revenue forecasts.
IGD Retail Analysis and ShopperVista This link opens in a new window
Retail Analysis - Commercial analysis of hundreds of leading food and consumer goods retailers and hundreds of major and developing markets, daily news analysis and opinion, market and retailer 5-year forecasts.
Shopper Vista - Progressive and objective view on shopper insights and sentiment.
There are repeated problems with logging in to this database. If you have issues please contact Matthew Barnes, Library Resources Officer - m.barnes@lancaster.ac.uk
Statista (including Global Consumer Survey) This link opens in a new window
Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative, time-saving and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics aggregating from 18,000 sources and on 75,000 different topics.
The Statista Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Selection of market research reports, news and analysis in the retail and technology sectors.
Report categories include: Drink, Food, Food Service, Leisure, Media, & Technology.
WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides intelligence for the marketing, advertising, media and research communities worldwide, drawn from more than 50 international sources, including WARC's own publications.
FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME is a tool that specialises in UK private company data, containing active and inactive companies with up to ten years’ worth of financial data available. It is updated on a daily basis and can be used in order to research, analyse and strategically build lists of companies using over 300 available search criteria.
FAME includes companies with a turnover more than £1.5 million OR profits more than £150,000 OR shareholder funds more than £1.5 million (currently 207,652 companies in FAME that meet this criteria)
NEXIS This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.
Marketing Mentor This link opens in a new window
A resource that provides comprehensive practical marketing skills.

Specialist Marketing Press

We subscribe to two specialist Marketing magazines that have been “The go to press” for marketing professionals for over 50 years. Once you register you will have access to the latest news, campaigns, issues, analysis and much more. These are used by professionals globally to keep an eye on what is happening in retail and beyond.

Access isn't as seamless as just clicking the links below SO PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY.

Campaign

Campaign is the world’s leading news source serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.

Launched as a weekly magazine in London on 12 September 1968, Campaign has blossomed into a globally-networked franchise providing real-time news and analysis by expert commentators in eight territories around the world. Apart from the UK, Campaign now serves the US , South East Asia , India , China , Japan , Turkey and the Middle East .

Campaign is fantastic for keeping commercially aware as it is updated in real-time.
You will find analysis, case studies, jobs, news and much more.

CAMPAIGN ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS
In order to access this resource, please create a personal account by accessing the following link: Register with Campaign You must register with your Lancaster University e-mail address (@lancaster.ac.uk). For job title - enter ‘Student’ or ‘Staff’; Organisation name - ‘Lancaster University’. For the remaining details you can enter - or 0. The final box asks for number of employees - choose 500-999. You should only need to register an account once.

CAMPAIGN ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

In order to access this resource, please create a personal account by accessing the following link: Register with Campaign

You must register with your Lancaster University e-mail address (@lancaster.ac.uk).

For job title - enter ‘Student’ or ‘Staff’;

Organisation name - ‘Lancaster University’.

For the remaining details you can enter - or 0.
The final box asks for number of employees - choose 500-999.

You should only need to register an account once.

MarketingWeek

MarketingWeek gets to the heart of marketing, cutting through the jargon, hype and more to bring you essential news and analysis that is used by the top agencies and employers.

It also includes reports and case studies.
The web version is updated daily so you will NEVER miss a vital piece of news that can help you keep up to date on your chosen company or sector.

Combine the above with a powerful search engine and it becomes an essential tool for any student interested in commercial current awareness.

MARKETINGWEEK ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS
In order to access this resource, please create a personal account by accessing the following link: Register with MarketingWeek Click ‘register’ and complete the form using your Lancaster University e-mail address (@lancaster.ac.uk). For job title - enter ‘Student’ or ‘Staff’; Organisation name - ‘Lancaster University’; Company type and sector - ‘Education’. You can enter the library postcode - LA1 4YH. You should only need to register an account once.

MARKETINGWEEK ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

In order to access this resource, please create a personal account by accessing the following link: Register with MarketingWeek

Click ‘register’ and complete the form using your Lancaster University e-mail address (@lancaster.ac.uk).

For job title - enter ‘Student’ or ‘Staff’;

Organisation name - ‘Lancaster University’;

Company type and sector - ‘Education’.

You can enter the library postcode - LA1 4YH.

You should only need to register an account once.

The Third Sector - Charity information and more

The TSRC

TSRC covers research on a range of topics united by their concern with the roles, resources and relationships of third sector organisations.

The Charity Commission of England and Wales.

The Charity Commission for England and Wales register and regulate charities in England and Wales, to ensure that the public can support charities with confidence. You can find the latest news, statistics, analysis, reports and more.

OSCR - The Scottish Charity Regulator

OSCR are the independent regulator and registrar for over 25,000 Scottish charities including community groups, religious charities, schools, universities, grant-giving charities and major care providers.

You can find news, guidance and much more.

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly (NVSQ), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is an international, interdisciplinary journal for nonprofit sector research dedicated to enhancing our knowledge of nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, and voluntarism by providing cutting-edge research, discussion, and analysis of the field. NVSQ provides a forum for researchers from around the world to publish timely articles from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.

This journal and others can be found in OneSearch, try using the keywords Charity and Volunteer.

The British Library has a page dedicated to the Charity Sector with lots of reading material, links to online databases, commissions, and much more. It is a very comprehensive collection of resources.

Whist we at Lancaster do not have access to all of the resources listed we do have some, including FAME which can be used to look at UK companies, many charities are also registered as companies.

The section on Useful websites is probably the most useful. You can register to visit the British Library and use it's resources in London and Yorkshire, further details here.