Arctic healthThe Arctic Health website is a central source for information on diverse aspects of the health of northern peoples. It gives access to evaluated health information from hundreds of local, state, national, and international agencies, as well as from professional societies and universities.
Autism dataResearch tool for anyone researching autism and Asperger syndrome.
Behind the headlinesExamines health-related stories which appear in the media, identifies their sources and discusses the underlying evidence.
Centre for Policy on AgeingIncludes links to their AgeInfo database and NDAR, their database of current and recent research on ageing.
DisasterLitSupplements PubMed. Includes expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.
The King's FundAn independent charitable foundation working to improve health care. Its library catalogue includes many journal articles and websites as well as books and reports. There are also excellent reading lists on a wide range of health topics.
MEDNARis a deep web-search portal which simultaneously searches a large number of web resources in the field of health and medicine, and ranks the results for you.
National Council for Palliative CareUmbrella organisation for all those who are involved in providing, commissioning and using palliative care and hospice services in England, Wales & Northern Ireland
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence DatabasePEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
POPLINEInformation on population and family planning, specifically research in contraceptive methods, family planning services, research in human fertility, maternal and child health, HIV/AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, and other related health, law, and policy issues. Many documents are unique to the collection and are unavailable elsewhere.
QualityWatchQualityWatch is compiled by the Nuffield Trust and the Health Foundation to provide independent scrutiny of health and social care by non-statutory bodies. There are in-depth research reports, key indicators with charts and maps, and news items.
WHO Reproductive Health LibraryIncludes: Adolescent sexual and reproductive health; Fertility regulation; Gynaecology, infertility and cancers; HIV; Improving clinical practice; Newborn health
Pregnancy and childbirth; Sexually transmitted infections
Grey literature in health and medicine
New York Academy of MedicineA separate tab in the Library catalogue allows you to search just for grey literature in health and medicine.
King's Fund LibraryThe Library of the King's Fund is an excellent source for reports and other grey literature on health and social care.
Patient organisations and information for patients
Patient InfoTrusted health information for patients and professionals.
Patient Information ForumFor health information producers, for all sectors and at all levels. The network has over 450 members across the UK in the NHS, voluntary, public and commercial sectors and in academia.
HealthWatchUK charity that supports and encourages scientific testing of conventional, complementary and alternative medicine and therapies.
NIHR INVOLVEUK national advisory group which supports greater public involvement in NHS, public health and social care research.
HealthTalk.orgHealthTalk.org contains videos and written information recording experiences of health and illness from more than 2000 people. The information is based on qualitative research undertaken at the University of Oxford. Subjects covered include cancer, dying and bereavement, pregnancy, later life and young people.
Patient voicesUses digital story-telling to improve medical professionals' education and influence policy-makers.
