LibGuides: Health Research: Clinical trials

Clinical Trials at Lancaster University

Clinical Research & Trials at Lancaster University
The Clinical Research Support team at Lancaster University supports all clinical research activity across the university, and will provide guidance on whether your research is a clinical study or if it falls under the category of a ‘clinical trial’.

About clinical trials

Finding clinical trials, research registers and research results
From the York Health Economics Consortium. Provides a listing of trials and research registers and advice on searching for trials.
MHRA - Clinical trials
Government information about clinical trials for medicines.
NHS Choices: Clinical trials and medical research
Aimed at patients and the general public.

Clinical Trials Registers

ALOIS
A comprehensive, open-access register of dementia studies maintained by the Cochrane Dementia and Cognitive Improvement Group.
Be Part of Research
NIHR's clinical trials gateway where you can find out about current clinical trials. Includes information for participants.
Cancer Trials
From Cancer Research UK
ClinicalTrials.gov
US government registry of clinical trials, which includes data from many other countries
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. In addition to bibliographic details (author, title, source, year, etc) CENTRAL records often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article.
ISRCTN registry
Database of current and completed controlled trials in the UK and abroad
MRC Clinical Trials Unit
Website of the Medical Research Council's Clinical Trials Unit at UCL.
WHO Clinical Trials Portal
WHO Clinical Trials Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by global clinical trials registries, listed below.
more...less...
Registries included in the WHO Clinical Trials Portal
* Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry
* Chinese Clinical Trial Registry
* ClinicalTrials.gov
* EU Clinical Trials Register (EU-CTR)
* ISRCTN, last data file imported on 18 March 2019
* The Netherlands National Trial Register
* Brazilian Clinical Trials Registry (ReBec)
* Clinical Trials Registry - India
* Clinical Research Information Service - Republic of Korea
* Cuban Public Registry of Clinical Trials
* German Clinical Trials Register
* Iranian Registry of Clinical Trials
* Japan Primary Registries Network
* Pan African Clinical Trial Registry
* Sri Lanka Clinical Trials Registry
* Thai Clinical Trials Registry (TCTR)
* Peruvian Clinical Trials Registry

Reporting clinical trials

EQUATOR Network
Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research: an international initiative that seeks to improve reliability and value of medical research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting of research studies
CONSORT
Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials: works for the transparent reporting of clinical trials

Recent books on clinical trials

Clinical Trials by Steven Piantadosi
Call Number: HMG891
ISBN: 9781118959206
Publication Date: 2017-08-28
Design and analysis of quality of life studies in clinical trials by Fairclough
Call Number: HMG891
ISBN: 9781420061178
Publication Date: 2010
Randomized clinical trials : design, practice and reporting by Machin & Fayers
Call Number: HMG891
ISBN: 9780471498124
Publication Date: 2010
Randomised Controlled Trials by Alejandro R. Jadad; Murray W. Enkin
Call Number: HMG (J)
ISBN: 9781405132664
Publication Date: 2007