LibGuides: Mathematics and Statistics: Finding journals and conference proceedings

Recommended mathematics and statistics databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Web of Science (All Subjects) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.
INFORMS PubsOnline This link opens in a new window
An online portal searching 14 peer-reviewed journals focused on operations research, management sciences, and analytics.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new window
American Mathematical Society's searchable database comprising Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Contains bibliographic records with abstracts (or reviews) of mathematics, statistics, computer science articles published, in more than 2,700 journals, book series and conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1940 - to present.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Lancaster University subscribes to the following collections:
*IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) - full text IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
*IEEE Standards Online - IEEE active, revised, archived, draft and redline versions
*Wake-up Radio
*Smart Grid Research
*MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection - full text access to all MIT Press ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 2015-2018
*IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - full text access to all IEEE-Wiley ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1872 to 2018
*Bell Labs Technical Journal - abstract records and full text articles published from 1922
*IBM Journal of Research and Development - abstract records and select full text published since 1957
*VDE VERLAG Conferences - abstract records and select full text published since 2005
*Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Computer Science eBooks Collection 2018
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Computer & Information Science eBooks Collections 5-8
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library eBooks Collections 8
International Abstracts in Operations Research This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from many operational research and mathematical science journals. This resource is no longer being updated since 2017.
MathSciNet (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on mathematics and statistics
Project Euclid was developed and deployed by the Cornell University Library and is jointly managed by Cornell and the Duke University Press. It is an online information community for independent and society journals in the fields of mathematics and statistics.

For a full list of all our databases please have a look at our A-Z of Databases

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology & Medicine 1780-1925 This link opens in a new window
A digitised archive of journals, books, reports, and personal documents that explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge, tracing the changes from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology.

Top Tips: Using the digital Library to find journal articles and conference papers

The short video below will show you how to search for journals and conference papers using library databases.

This short video will show how to used Advanced Search in OneSearch to search for journal articles and conference papers.

Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the content of scholarly material published on the Web and in electronic books and journals.

Information on how to link to the full-text of articles via Google Scholar is available here or follow the short video tutorial below.

Notices of the American Mathematical Society

notices of the asm

As a general introduction to a subject, have a look at Notices of the American Mathematical Society, good survey articles which put together a nice holistic overview of a subject, accompanied by a decent list of citations.

Why should I use journal articles and conference papers?

It's important that you use journal articles and conference papers in your studies at University. They give you:

the most up-to-date research on a topic
coverage of a specialised subject
Original research, experiments and in-depth analysis

In computing, many academics publish in conference proceedings rather than in academic journals. You can search for both using the Library databases.

The University subscribes to subject specific databases which you can access using your Lancaster username and password wherever you are. Databases are the best way to find journal articles and conference papers on your topic as they index and provide access to articles from thousands of different journal titles and conference proceedings.

Lancaster University subscribes to around 270 databases but not all will be relevant for your topic. You can find the key databases for your subject below, or through the Databases A - Z list.