Provides access to case law, legislation, journal articles and practitioner texts from the UK plus legal materials from the US, Canada and other common law jurisdictions.
Content includes: full text of amended and consolidated UK legislation from 1267; a comprehensive range of general and specialist law reports including the Law Reports of England & Wales, All England Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and the Family Law Reports; Halsbury’s Laws of England and Wales; over 100 full text UK law journals from a range of publishers including Cambridge University Press and Oxford University Press.
Access to over 18,000 expert-led courses, which contain bite-sized videos, in themes of Buisness, Creative and Technology, covering topics including leadership, wellbeing and personal development, as well as technical and creative skills.
Discover thousands of ebooks and audiobooks available to Lancaster University members. Browse or search to discover the varied collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. You can also recommend titles for adding to the collection.
Includes popular titles such as Us Weekly, National Geographic, Good Housekeeping, Vanity Fair, and Rolling Stone, plus special interest titles such as PC World, Bon Appetit, Minecraft World, and Women’s Fitness.
Titles in a variety of languages including Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, German, French, and more.
Rolling 3 years of back issues, wherever available.
PQDTGlobal is considered the world’s most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. The collection comprises millions of searchable citations from 1861 through to the present day, together with over a million full-text, graduate dissertations and theses added since 1997. Annually, around 70,000 new, full-text documents are added to the collection from 700+ academic institutions worldwide.
Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative, time-saving and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics aggregating from 18,000 sources and on 75,000 different topics.
The Statista Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
You can register with your Lancaster University email and have unlimited access to read articles online, view complete digital editions, and download the app to any device.
To register click on the red person icon at the top of the page.
Register using your university email address ending lancaster.ac.uk
Choose a username and password.
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.
Extensive collection of legal information including EU legislation, treaties, cases, commentary and comprehensive coverage of the Official Journal; legal materials from the US, Canada and other common law jurisdictions; international law resources
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
An online resource to help digitize, disseminate and discover African cultural materials.
Aims of Africa Commons: to enable Africa easily to control, digitize, and disseminate its archival sources - those within Africa and items residing internationally. Also to save and preserve at-risk content
History and Culture
Africa Commons: History and Culture is a comprehensive database for searching and discovering African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
URL: https://africacommons.net/modules/history-and-culture/
Black South African Magazines
Black South African Magazines is the first and only digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973. Find over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written for Black African audiences. Coverage includes Drum, Zonk!, The Townships Housewife, Hi-Note, and others.
URL: https://africacommons.net/modules/black-south-african-magazines/
Southern African Films and Documentaries
With content spanning the 1900s to present, Southern African Films and Documentaries offers—for the first time—streaming access to more than a century of African history, politics, and culture. Propaganda films from South Africa’s Information Service and newsreels from African Mirror, showing life under apartheid and major historical events as they unfolded (Rand rebellion, Africa during WWII, mining industry efforts, the Soweto uprising, the Rhodesian Bush War, and other topics). Documentaries and interviews (e.g., unedited interviews of Winnie Mandela and Oliver Tambo), sociopolitical documentary films such as Sharpeville Massacre; Side by Side: Women Against Aids in Zimbabwe; We are Marching to Pretoria, Voices of Robben Island, and Black Beulahs. Feature films, such as African Jim from 1949, South Africa’s first feature film, showing a picture of vibrant township culture before apartheid.
URL: https://africacommons.net/modules/southern-african-films-and-documentaries/
The Cecil Papers is a major collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. More than 150,000 pages have been digitised in full colour to create a definitive online archive of almost 30,000 manuscript documents written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history. These are accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers, featuring summaries and/or transcripts of many documents and two eighteenth-century volumes of selected transcriptions.
Community Care Inform contains a wealth of expert-written, practice-related information, including: guidance to key pieces of legislation, expert articles and practice guides.
Make better informed decisions, and handle matters involving legislation with ease and accuracy. Community Care Inform will help you quickly research cases, look up expert articles and access legislation guidance – for background research, case preparation, or even academic purposes – all from a single point of reference
Throughout England and Wales, Community Care Inform partners with local authorities, NHS trusts, universities, colleges and charities to support their workforces, enabling high-quality social work practice and education
Community Care Inform contains a wealth of expert-written, practice-related information, including: guidance to key pieces of legislation, expert articles and practice guides.
Make better informed decisions, and handle matters involving legislation with ease and accuracy. Community Care Inform will help you quickly research cases, look up expert articles and access legislation guidance – for background research, case preparation, or even academic purposes – all from a single point of reference
Throughout England and Wales, Community Care Inform partners with local authorities, NHS trusts, universities, colleges and charities to support their workforces, enabling high-quality social work practice and education
Britain began the twentieth century with a vast global empire. The spheres of influence of the British government stretched from the UK and Ireland to mandates, protectorates and colonies in the Middle East and Africa, from the islands of the West Indies to British Malaya and Singapore in South East Asia, as well as to the sub-continent of India, and the self-governing Dominions of Canada, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.
Declassified Documents: Twentieth Century British Intelligence allows researchers to explore the role of signals intelligence, human agents, diplomats, politicians and the armed forces in the gathering of intelligence from across this empire and beyond, and to explore the impact this had on crucial events and decisions throughout a turbulent century.
Brings together material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, to provide valuable primary source material created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. After the Second World War decolonization movements around the world gathered pace, and from the small port colony of Aden to the vast Indian sub-continent, new borders were set and new nations built.
The development of party politics, trade unions and other local and national movements in former colonies and Commonwealth nations across Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Australasia and the Americas took many different forms. This archive allows insight into the variety of systems and modes of national and international political thought that became prominent in the twentieth century, including socialism and communism, anti-imperialism, regional independence movements, trade unionism, student activism, Pan-Africanism and many modes of constitutional democracy.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1859 - 2021
In-depth industry research and reports for the US, UK, Australia, Europe and beyond. Track company performance, strategy and financial data with interactive graphs and charts plus 5-year revenue forecasts.
The Lens (Previously The Patent Lens) is a worldwide Patent and Scholarly Search. Including a Patent Search from over 95 jurisdictions. It also includes over 200 million scholarly records, indexed from Microsoft Academic, Crossref and PubMed. The free version is also enhanced with patent, scholarly works, and biological sequence analysis, allowing users to see where these have been cited in research.
Access to over 18,000 expert-led courses, which contain bite-sized videos, in themes of Buisness, Creative and Technology, covering topics including leadership, wellbeing and personal development, as well as technical and creative skills.
For 200 years—since 1817—the Academy has brought together extraordinary people working at the frontiers of discovery. Among the oldest scientific organizations in the United States, it has become not only an enduring cultural institution in New York, but also one of the most significant organizations in the global scientific community. Throughout its history, the Academy's Membership has featured thinkers and innovators from all walks of life, including U.S. Presidents Jefferson and Monroe, Thomas Edison, Charles Darwin, Margaret Mead, and many more. Today, the Academy numbers over 20,000 Members in 100+ countries, with a President's Council that includes 30 Nobel Laureates, and a distinguished Board of Governors comprised of leaders from business, academia, and philanthropy.
Policy Commons indexes and link to more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a curated directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. In 2021 alone, Policy Commons added 500,000 new full-text records— more than twenty per hour! Urgent topics like COVID and Ukraine can be researched without waiting for traditional publishing schedules. Policy Commons includes 500,000 pages of full-text materials from Council of Europe, African Books Collective, Environmental Law Institute, and other publishers. Policy Commons rescued over 35,000 reports from nearly 500 inactive organizations. Policy Commons expect to add at least 100,000 more pages of saved content every year, from organizations that were important, influential, and cited before they disappeared.
Global Think Tanks
Global Think Tanks is a living database of research produced by the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, research centers, IGOs, and NGOs. Access to more than 30 million pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from 10,000 policy organizations. Global Think Tanks covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, and much more.
URL: https://policycommons.net/modules/global-think-tanks/
North American City Reports
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations. With more than 200,000 documents, it provides a new and typically unmined source for observing policy in action.
URL: https://policycommons.net/modules/north-american-city-reports/
World Cities
World Cities preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s top 100 cities by population, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South, and cities with particular research importance, such as those dealing with climate change, political instability, or rapid growth.
URL: https://policycommons.net/modules/world-cities/
RefWorks helps you manage your references with a handy plugin for MS Word that enables you to cite while you write. Please use 'Login from my institution' when creating an account.
Throughout history, revolution and protest movements have demanded the world’s attention and driven political and social change. To understand the impact and aftermath of these events, it is imperative to shine a historical lens on the ideologies, origins, goals and stakeholders that drove them. Revolution and Protest Online is a research and learning database providing in one place comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements. This easily searchable collection examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the 21st century. This collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizational and government documents, journals, books, reports, videos, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images. Content is provided by preeminent historical archives as well as video partners. The collection also provides links to websites that offer background for the curated primary sources and documentaries.
Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music includes the searchable full-text of the print encyclopedia (over 9000 pages), over 300 audio examples, musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together over 700,000 of the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database.
The collection is a comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. The collection editors have actively monitored the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries. They have also added numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other executive agencies.
The UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL) is the culmination of a three-year project between Jisc, the Internet Archive, the Wellcome Library and nine other partner institutions to digitise more than 15 million pages in over 79,000 works. The Wellcome Library have provided their entire 19th Century collection, while the other participating libraries have contributed selections from their special collections, to encompass a broad and diverse range of relevant publications from the period.
Sporting full colour page images, PDF downloads and searchable OCR full text for all publications, The UKMHL collection is a valuable resource. The subject areas covered are broad and include topics such as consumer health, sport and fitness, food and nutrition as well as medicine and medical practices, providing a valuable resource for study in the medical humanities and beyond.
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. It shows how women have negotiated power and status regarding private or public programs centered on their rights and social inclusion. Stressing the historical problem of the “feminization of poverty,” coupled with women’s invisibility within most foreign aid regimes and approaches to technical assistance, the project documents how women and their allies worked to balance economic growth and social improvement while navigating equity and the fairer allocation of resources. Accompanying essays by leading scholars in the field outline and critique significant shifts in approaches to development, including that of a gendered “post-development” perspective.
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women's stories to light, the Women's Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.
