Collections list:
African American Communities
Age of Exploration
America in World War Two
American Indian Histories and Cultures
American History, 1493-1945
American Indian Newspapers
American West
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan 1834-1922
Children's Literature and Culture
China, America and the Pacific
China: Culture and Society
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Colonial America
Colonial Caribbean
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966; Latin America, 1833-1969; Middle East, 1839-1969; North America, 1824-1961
Defining Gender
Early Modern England
East India Company (India Office records from the British Library, 1599-1947)
Eighteenth Century Drama
Eighteenth Century Journals
Empire Online
Ethnomusicology
Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920
First World War
Food and Drink in History
Foreign Offica Files for China,1919-1980; India, Pakistan and Afghanistan; Japan, 1919-1952; Southeast Asia, 1963-9180; Middle East, 1971-1981 (source from the UK National Archives)
Frontier Life
Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Global Commodities
India Raj and Empire
Interwar Culture
J.Walter Thompson: Advertising America
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture
Life at Sea
Literary Manuscripts (Berg Collection New York Public Library)
Literary Manuscripts (Brotherton Library Univeristy of Leeds)
Literary Print Culture
London Low Life
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
Mass Observation Project
Medical Services and Warfare
Medieval Family Life
Medieval Travel Writing
Meiji Japan
Migration to New Worlds
Nineteenth Century Literary Society
Perdita Manuscripts, 1500-1700
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain
Race Relations in America
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Service Newspapers of World War Two
Sex and Sexuality
Shakespeare in Performance
Shakespeare's Globe Archive
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Socialism on Film
The Grand Tour
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
Victorians on Film
Victorian Popular Culture
Virginia Company Archives
Women in the National Archives
World's Fairs
Primary Sources
Primary sources are documents (manuscript or printed) from particular historical periods, as opposed to "secondary sources" (e.g. books and articles) written at a later date about particular historical periods.
Among the many types of materials that may be primary sources are: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government documents, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, and artifacts.
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
Search across several collections of primary source materials spanning the social sciences and humanities from the 15th-21st centuries. Covers disciplines including borders and migrations, gender and sexuality, global history, war and conflict, the British Empire, Victorian popular culture etc.
Collections list:
African American Communities
Age of Exploration
America in World War Two
American Indian Histories and Cultures
American History, 1493-1945
American Indian Newspapers
American West
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan 1834-1922
Children's Literature and Culture
China, America and the Pacific
China: Culture and Society
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Colonial America
Colonial Caribbean
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966; Latin America, 1833-1969; Middle East, 1839-1969; North America, 1824-1961
Defining Gender
Early Modern England
East India Company (India Office records from the British Library, 1599-1947)
Eighteenth Century Drama
Eighteenth Century Journals
Empire Online
Ethnomusicology
Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920
First World War
Food and Drink in History
Foreign Offica Files for China,1919-1980; India, Pakistan and Afghanistan; Japan, 1919-1952; Southeast Asia, 1963-9180; Middle East, 1971-1981 (source from the UK National Archives)
Frontier Life
Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Global Commodities
India Raj and Empire
Interwar Culture
J.Walter Thompson: Advertising America
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture
Life at Sea
Literary Manuscripts (Berg Collection New York Public Library)
Literary Manuscripts (Brotherton Library Univeristy of Leeds)
Literary Print Culture
London Low Life
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
Mass Observation Project
Medical Services and Warfare
Medieval Family Life
Medieval Travel Writing
Meiji Japan
Migration to New Worlds
Nineteenth Century Literary Society
Perdita Manuscripts, 1500-1700
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain
Race Relations in America
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Service Newspapers of World War Two
Sex and Sexuality
Shakespeare in Performance
Shakespeare's Globe Archive
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Socialism on Film
The Grand Tour
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
Victorians on Film
Victorian Popular Culture
Virginia Company Archives
Women in the National Archives
World's Fairs
A substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, especially strong on commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology.
Bristol has a substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, including the National Liberal Club collection, with pamphlets from the libraries of Charles Bradlaugh, John Noble, the Liberation Society, the Land Nationalisation Society, the Cobden Club, and others. Bristol's collection is especially strong on 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology. In addition to publications by Liberal Party members, it includes many pamphlets from other political parties.
A national collection of over 150,000 socio-political cartoons from British newspapers and magazines, plus comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.
A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. N.B. You will need to login to access some of the premium content available in BHO. Click on the Log in link at the top of the screen and follow the link to Login via Shibboleth and the UK Access Management Federation.
Colonial America consists of all 1,450 volumes of the 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Covering the period 1606 to 1822, CO 5 constitutes the original correspondence of the colonial governments with the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.
Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries
Module 2: Towards Revolution
Module 3: The American Revolution
Module 4: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
Module 5: Growth, Trade and Developement
Personal collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900), social reformer and Member of Parliament for Newcastle, with special focus on the late 1840s to the early 1880s. This collection reflects his interests in social, educational and economic issues and includes much local material.
Coverage: 1603-1898
This collection consists mainly of items in parliamentary reform, colonial affairs and Catholic emancipation and was largely accumulated by the Earls Grey over the course of the 19th century.
Coverage: 1800-1900
Still owned by the family, this collection was largely accumulated by the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Earls Grey. Charles was Foreign Secretary (1806-07) and Prime Minister (1830-34). Henry George was Under Secretary for Home Affairs (1830) and the Colonies (1830-34), Secretary at War (1835-39), and Secretary of State for the Colonies (1846-52). Albert Henry George was Administrator of Rhodesia (1896-97) and Governor-General of Canada (1904-11).
This is a digital archive of the India Office Records on the East India Company from its inception until it dissolution [1599-1947].
Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
Decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865. Many report series are featured, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. Thousands of cases are reprinted in full, spanning the years 1220 to 1867.
Comprises the earlier collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office. This consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century.
A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
This is a truly global resource documenting the trade in 15 commodities around the world from c1500 to the present day.
The 15 major commodities are: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, tea, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spitirts.
Personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), covering the major political, economic and social developments taking place in Britain in the early part of the 19th century. Material covers issues such as universal suffrage, Catholic emancipation, the reduction in the power of the Anglican church and an end to imprisonment for debt.
This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
Dating from the 19th century, this database brings together political party materials, including election manifestos and political cartoons, along with material from pressure groups such as the Fabian Society and from cooperative movements such as the Cooperative Women's Guild.
The collection covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.
The majority of the material within The Making of the Modern World was collected by one man, Herbert Foxwell (1849-1936), a preeminent British economist and one of the most important collectors of economics literature. His two main collections form the nucleus of two of the greatest economics libraries in the world, Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature (Senate House, University of London) and Kress Library of Business and Economics (Harvard University), and the basis of this digital series.
Covering the years 1799-1900, the Political Collection includes writings and speeches as well as tracts, petitions and other special-interest publications. The Printing Collection includes dialect poems, town guides, auctioneers’ catalogues, lists of parish relief recipients and accounts of murder trials.
Original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.
Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
This archive chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.
Access to rare and priceless literary sources for scholars and students studying William Wordsworth and the Romantic period. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries.
In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth through her much celebrated Grasmere Journals, Alfoxden diary and travel journals. Verse manuscripts and correspondence from leading literary lights of the Romantic period such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey are also made available in this digital resource.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. It contains cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade.
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition sheds light on the abolitionist movement, the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization. It explores all facets of the controversial topic, with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues.
Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise as perpetuated on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, placing particular emphasis on the Caribbean, Latin America, and United States. More international in scope than Part I, this collection was developed by an international editorial board with scholars specializing in North American, European, African, and Latin American/Caribbean aspects of the slave trade.
Part III: The Institution of Slavery expands the depth of coverage of the topic. Part III explores, in vivid detail, the inner workings of slavery from 1492 to 1888. Through legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, government records, and other primary sources, this collection reveals how enslaved people struggled against the institution. These rare works explore slavery as a legal and labor system, the relationship between slavery and religion, freed slaves, the Shong Masacre, the Dememara insurrection, and many other aspects and events.
Part IV: Age of Emancipation includes numerous rare documents related to emancipation in the United States, as well as Latin America and the Caribbean. This collection supports the study of many areas, including activities of the federal government in dealing with former slaves and the Freedmen's Bureau, views of political parties and postwar problems with the South, documents of the British and French government on the slave trade, reports from the West Indies and Africa, and other topics.
State Papers Online provides access to the British State Papers, the papers of the Secretary of State from Henry VIII's accession in 1509 to 1782. Covering a wide range of documents, subjects, and importance, they concern internal English/British affairs and administration of the country, and foreign affairs, marriage alliances, treaties and wars. Here are original letters written by Henry VIII and subsequent monarchs, ministers, officials and clerks, together with those sent from European rulers and their officials, and the people of Britain of all social levels. These papers form a major source for Early Modern Studies of Britain and Europe.
Collections available include:
* Part I - The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
* Part II - The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
* Part III - The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
* Part IV - The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 1: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 4: State Papers Foreign, Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and Turkey * New for 2023 - The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle
War, State and Society provides access to thousands of documents from the collections of eleven U.K. government departments, each responsible for dealing with and reporting on the domestic situation in Britain during the Second World War and its aftermath.
Its files document a wide variety of themes and topics relating to social, economic, political, and cultural affairs, providing a uniquely comprehensive insight into civilian life across the country, and the everyday impacts of total war. Each collection contains the reports of government departments, the records of local wartime organisations, and the voices of ordinary citizens living through the period.
A collection of 19th-century anti-slavery pamphlets from the private collection of Henry Joseph Wilson (1833-1914), the distinguished Liberal Member of Parliament for Sheffield.
The collection is of particular importance for the study of the activities of the provincial philanthropic societies, such as the Birmingham and Midland Freedmen's Aid Association, the Birmingham and West Bromwich Ladies' Negro's Friend Society, the Glasgow Emancipation Society, the Manchester Union and Emancipation Society, and the Sheffield Ladies Female Anti Slavery Society. Of interest is the prominent role of women in the movement, who formed themselves into societies which lobbied MPs and printed pamphlets on the conditions of slaves. Here we have details of what was sold at their bazaars to raise funds and lists of names of subscribers, the minutiae which bring alive the history of the movement.
Coverage: 1761-1900
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society. Coverage is from 1732 to 1950, and a number of new titles have recently been added to the collection, including the Westmorland Gazette, Leeds Intelligencer, and the Liverpool Daily Post. Now including Irish newspapers
The collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
NB: British Library Newspapers (1732-1950) includes the vast majority of the newspapers contained within the British Newspaper Archive (BNA). Exclusions are low print runs and material with poor legibility. BNA content is exclusively available to higher education institutions via the BL database.
Contains facsimile page images and searchable full text for over 470 British periodicals published from the 17th until the early 20th century.
Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, philosophy, history, science, and the social sciences.
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books collected by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London) between 1896 and 2016.
An online, fully searchable facsimile, Gale's Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a near-complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through to 2021. Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
This historical archive is a comprehensive research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years.
Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues that were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In more recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added.
A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).
With its debut in 1842, the Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science) with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research. Areas include:
* The Arts
* Discovery and Exploration
* Fashion
* Industry and Trade
* Military History
* Politics
* Science, Medicine and Progress
* Social History
* Sports
* Transport
* Travel
Ever since it was launched in 1986, The Independent has enjoyed a reputation for quality and innovation, something Andreas Whittam-Smith and his two co-founders, Stephen Glover and Matthew Symonds, made as a guiding principle when they conceived the idea of a new, upmarket British newspaper.
Sold in over 160 countries and read worldwide, the International Herald Tribune is one of the most innovative and original newspapers, famous for its objective and clear coverage. Bringing an international perspective, it provides a valuable counterpoint to the Anglo-American press, adding a new dimension to research. The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Coverage: 1851-2013.
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text of the New York Times back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Researchers can study the progression of events over time by browsing issues of The New York Times, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
Picture Post’s innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
Above all, this resource provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things—from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster—all caught in a single moment in time.
The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737, are presented in digitized format here. The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.
The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.
The archive is a comprehensive mine of domestic and international political, religious, and cultural information of the period, and provides an insight into contemporary reactions, social engagement, and the public representation of key events and figures in a tumultuous era of English and European history.
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own remit and perspective on the news.
In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
The Telegraph Historical Archive is the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. Researchers and students can full-text search across 1 million pages of the newspaper's backfile from its first issue to the end of 2016, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
Coverage: 1838-2007.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
In its pages, The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led
to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil
disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir
region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the
Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear
power. And, it provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
From the first book published in English through to the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains more than 146,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Largely made up of non-English materials from the fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Subject coverage: European history and literature; Religion and politics; Philosophy and classical thinkers; Early medicine and science; Travel literature
Provides access to modern Ordnance Survey digital mapping and also the Ancient Roam historic map collection. To access Digimap you must first register with EDINA.
Full text of UK Public General Acts from 1988 and Local Acts from 1991. Most Acts are as originally enacted, but some legislation incorporates later revisions.
JustisOne provides access to UK cases and legislation, with superior court cases dating back to 1163, and the full legislative history of the UK from 1235. Please note: If linking to cases on Westlaw through JustisOne, select Westlaw UK Home Organisation.
State Papers Online provides access to the British State Papers, the papers of the Secretary of State from Henry VIII's accession in 1509 to 1782. Covering a wide range of documents, subjects, and importance, they concern internal English/British affairs and administration of the country, and foreign affairs, marriage alliances, treaties and wars. Here are original letters written by Henry VIII and subsequent monarchs, ministers, officials and clerks, together with those sent from European rulers and their officials, and the people of Britain of all social levels. These papers form a major source for Early Modern Studies of Britain and Europe.
Collections available include:
* Part I - The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
* Part II - The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
* Part III - The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
* Part IV - The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 1: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
* Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 4: State Papers Foreign, Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and Turkey * New for 2023 - The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle
Full-text access to government documents from 1688-2005. Includes Bills, House Papers and Command Papers, along with reports of committees and commissions, accounts and financial returns, statistical information, treaties and foreign correspondence.
Quickly and easily view, search and save the relevant papers for a particular Act, including Lords papers, Bills, Standing Committee/Public Bill Committee, Hansards and Acts dating back to 1919.
National Geographic Magazine Digital Archive, 1888-2015 documents over one hundred years of life on earth. Full-text articles and the magazine's iconic photography provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and more.
A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the backfiles of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, and Woman’s Day, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health. Elsewhere, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and Essence disclose trends in and responses to the changing roles and experiences of teenage, young adult, and African-American women respectively.
An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues, reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.
Primary sources are documents (manuscript or printed) from particular historical periods, as opposed to "secondary sources" (e.g. books and articles) written at a later date about particular historical periods.
This link opens in a new window