LibGuides: Physics: Sustainability

Lancaster University Sustainability Policy

Click on the image to find out more about what Lancaster University is doing in regards to sustainability.

Library Resources

The Library provides access to a range of resources on sustainability, climate change and environmental issues. Explore our e-books, databases and e-journals below.

E-Books

Key Databases

Environmental Science and History
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History focuses on critical aspects of anthropogenic change, with unique and rare archival collections from multiple, global sources. These collections include:
* Royal Botanic Gardens Kew
* The National Archives (UK)
* The Commonwealth Forestry Institute
* CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International)
Topics covered include agriculture, biodiversity, botany, climate change, deforestation, fisheries, hydrology, irrigation, livestock, water sources, and wetlands. It enables researchers to trace the impacts of human activity on the natural world through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs - all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analysed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives programme.
Subjects covered: Agriculture, Anthropocene, Biodiversity, Botany, British Empire, Climate, Climate Change, Colonial History, Deforestation, Digital Humanities, Earth Science, Ecology, Environment, Fisheries, Forestry, Hydrology, Irrigation, Livestock, Mycology, Soil, Water Sources, Wetlands.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from over 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc
GreenFILE
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles concerning all aspects of human impact on the environment, including global warming, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Lancaster University subscribes to the following collections:
*IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) - full text IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
*IEEE Standards Online - IEEE active, revised, archived, draft and redline versions
*Wake-up Radio
*Smart Grid Research
*MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection - full text access to all MIT Press ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 2015-2018
*IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - full text access to all IEEE-Wiley ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1872 to 2018
*Bell Labs Technical Journal - abstract records and full text articles published from 1922
*IBM Journal of Research and Development - abstract records and select full text published since 1957
*VDE VERLAG Conferences - abstract records and select full text published since 2005
*Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Computer Science eBooks Collection 2018
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Computer & Information Science eBooks Collections 5-8
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library eBooks Collections 8
Sustainability (JSTOR)
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.

Policy and Guidance

Policy Commons
Policy Commons indexes and link to more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a curated directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. In 2021 alone, Policy Commons added 500,000 new full-text records— more than twenty per hour! Urgent topics like COVID and Ukraine can be researched without waiting for traditional publishing schedules. Policy Commons includes 500,000 pages of full-text materials from Council of Europe, African Books Collective, Environmental Law Institute, and other publishers. Policy Commons rescued over 35,000 reports from nearly 500 inactive organizations. Policy Commons expect to add at least 100,000 more pages of saved content every year, from organizations that were important, influential, and cited before they disappeared.
Global Think Tanks
Global Think Tanks is a living database of research produced by the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, research centers, IGOs, and NGOs. Access to more than 30 million pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from 10,000 policy organizations. Global Think Tanks covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, and much more.
URL: https://policycommons.net/modules/global-think-tanks/
Overton.io
Overton is a searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 182 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time.

Mapping

Environmental Digimap
Environment Digimap is part of the Digimap Collection of on-line mapping and data delivery facilities. Users can view maps through their web browser, save maps for printing and download environmental map data for use in geographical information systems.
EarthBlox.io
Earth Blox gives you commercial access to Google Earth Engine’s entire catalogue of satellite imagery and geospatial datasets, and you don’t need to be an expert in Python or JavaScript to use it.

You can find a comprehensive list of databases on our A-Z of Databases and on your Subject Guide.

E-Journals

Sustainability Development Goals

Lancaster University is committed to playing a key role in tackling the climate crisis by addressing the Sustainable Development Goals across our teaching, research and engagement and through the way we manage and operate our University as an organisation. Read more on the Sustainability Strategy Webpage

Two of our resources have specific SDG goal search feature, useful in filtering to show the university's impact, or even individual researchers' contributions.

Scopus

A dedicated SDG tab has been added to the Scopus Organisational and Author Profile page. This feature showcases the number of documents published that have contributed to specific Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Overton

Overton allows users to refine their search results using SDG filters to see the policy documents related to a specific goal. This makes it easier for researchers and policymakers to see what policy action is being taken on each front: to understand what sort of research is useful when creating this SDG policy, and to track how individuals and institutions are contributing.

LinkedIn Learning - Sustainability

34 Things to Know about Carbon and Climate by Seth Godin and The Carbon Almanac Network

The simple facts of climate change will surprise you. In this course, Seth Godin and a team of volunteer editors and designers cover more than 30 important points from the Carbon Almanac, a thoroughly annotated resource compiled by 1900 people across 91 countries. In this fast-moving overview, you’ll discover insights needed for leadership on this critical issue.

Digital Sustainability: How to Reduce Your Digital Footprint by Lorena Díaz Quijano

Discover the secret to creating a more conscious and environmentally friendly mindset, developing an awareness of your own digital consumption habits, and intervening, wherever necessary. Get tips on reducing your digital footprint, generating a greener tech future, and understanding your digital impact on the environment along with your responsibility to do more to protect it. By the end of this course, you’ll be prepared to become an agent of change in your personal digital life and start making more sustainable decisions in the workplace.

Physics: Sustainability

Lancaster University Sustainability Policy

Library Resources

E-Books

Key Databases

Key Databases

Policy and Guidance

Mapping

E-Journals

Sustainability Development Goals

LinkedIn Learning - Sustainability

Kanopy