Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law

Information to help you carry out legal research

Finding journal articles in OneSearch

Find online journal articles by using OneSearch

Screenshot of the OneSearch search bar

Choose the 'Articles and More' search mode or search 'Everything' and refine your results to articles later. Enter keywords to describe the subject you are researching or details of the specific article you are looking for.

Not all law journal articles are indexed in OneSearch.  If you can't find a specific article, search for the journal title in 'Everything' and check the coverage to see if the relevant year is available.  If you only have an abbreviated title, for example SJ, use the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations to find the full title.

Have a look at this video to se how to find a specific journal article.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the content of scholarly material published on the Web and in electronic books and journals.

Information on how to link to the full-text of articles via Google Scholar is available here.

Google Scholar Search

Finding journal articles and more in databases

Databases are collections of journal articles and other resources. You can use these to extend and refine your search as not all journal articles are included in the OneSearch index.

Databases enable you to construct a more complex search and have advanced functionality which help you to find and organise relevant  material.

Most article databases contain the full text of articles, but some are indexing/abstracting/bibliographic databases containing details of journal articles.  Click on Find It icon to see if the full text is available.  We do not have access to all articles in indexing databases.

Subject databases for Law