LibGuides: Engineering: Finding books and eBooks

One Search

The default search in OneSearch is Everything. You can change this to Books and more, Articles and more or Full text online once you have run your search.

Engineering ebook collections

Most of your modules will have a reading list to help you find out more about your subject, and your tutors will guide you in what you need to read and when. Look for the green jigsaw icon in moodle.

Listed below are some of the eBook collections which focus on Engineering and related topics that you may find useful for your studies.

To find out more about finding and using eBooks, have a look at the eBook guide, which provides guidance in using the different eBook platforms.

IEEE Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of books in the fields of electrical and computer engineering published under the Wiley-IEEE Press imprint.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks on Engineering and related topics.
Knovel’s content includes more than 120,000 interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel or PTC’s Mathcad.
MIT Computing & Engineering eBooks This link opens in a new window
Titles published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) between 2015 and 2019 in computer science and engineering technologies
Momentum Press Engineering eBooks This link opens in a new window
Concise, applied ebooks for advanced engineering students covering industrial, environmental, and structural engineering; innovations in engineering; engineering management, and much more.
Morgan & Claypool Engineering & Computer Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic books (or lectures) focusing on engineering and computer science.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy.
Please note: You no longer need to sign in with your e-mail address to access this resource
The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books.

Knovel - video tutorials

Getting Started with Knovel

Click on the image above to access the video tutorial.

Advanced searching with Knovel

How to find ebooks in OneSearch

To find out how to find ebooks within OneSearch have a look at the short video tutorial below

Finding Engineering books in the Library

Below are some of the key classmarks in the area of engineering that may help you browse the shelves.

Subject	Classmark
Aeronautical Engineering	UO
Agriculture	UA-UB
Chemical Engineering	US-UV
Civil Engineering	UH
Communications	UNO
Computing	AZ
Design	UEF
Electrical Engineering	UN
Energy, Fuel	UQ
Materials	UF
Mathematical Methods in Engineering	UEAA
Mechanical Engineering	UL
Metallurgy	UR
Mining	UD
Nuclear Engineering	UQQ
Operations Research	AYL
Probability	AYD
Project Management	TDHB

The books are arranged on the shelf in the following order:

Capitals	UE
Numbers	UE896
Stops	UE.N
Lower case	UEea

Numbers are ordered decimally, ie 1, 11, 2, 21, 3