LibGuides: Leisure Reading & Wellbeing Books: Audiobooks, eBooks, Podcasts, Films and TV

eBooks & Audiobooks

OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Discover thousands of ebooks and audiobooks available to Lancaster University members. Browse or search to discover the varied collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. You can also recommend titles for adding to the collection.

Download the Libby app to browse and read OverDrive titles on your mobile device.

NAXOS Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new window
Literature and poetry, best sellers and classics from medieval times to the twenty-first century; many original productions supplement a range of non-fiction; a variety of unabridged and skillfully abridged audiobooks.
Over 750 titles and 350 authors
Search by famous quote or phrase with Text Search.
Access is available for up-to 5 consecutive users.

BorrowBox
Lancashire Public Libraries Borrow Box is available to anyone living in Lancashire.
You need to join the Library before accessing the ebooks and audiobooks.
Click here to join Lancashire Public Libraries
LibriVox
Free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world
Open Library
Open Library is a project of the Internet Archive, which aims to provide a page on the web for every book ever published. It currently has over 20 million edition records online and provides access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books.
Free-Ebooks.net
Internet Archive eBooks and Texts
Offers over 20,000 freely downloadable books and texts
Project Gutenberg Free eBooks
Over 60,000 titles available
Google Books
Find millions of books you can preview or read for free.
University of California Press Free eBooks
Over 700 electronic editions of academic books available to the public

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to over 18,000 films. You will find a range of films including documentaries and world cinema.
The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation that allow users to share videos.
Box of Broadcasts (Bob) This link opens in a new window
BoB is an off-air recording and broadcast media archive service available to Higher Education Institutions providing access to TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option.
It includes a permanent archive of all broadcast content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra.
There is an option to schedule recordings up to seven days in advance and request programmes broadcast over the previous 30 days.