Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Map resources

Map resources at Lancaster University Library

EDINA Digimap

Digimap logo

What is Digimap?

Digimap is a collection of EDINA services that deliver maps and geospatial data from a number of national data providers, including Ordnance Survey and the British Geological Survey. Data is available either to download to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online.

A wide range of data is available for England, Wales and Scotland with a smaller range available for the Isle of Man. Geological data is also available for Northern Ireland.

Each Digimap collection has  a different licence; you can see details and FAQs in their licences and terms of use .

‚ÄčSoftware

Lancaster University provides a wide range of software to help you use and present Digimap data, including ArcGIS.

Printing

Colour printers and printers which can handle large formats are available on campus - for up-to-date information see Lancaster Answers.

More information about the service is available here.

Which collections are included in Digimap?

The five map collections within Digimap available to members of Lancaster University are:

Ordnance Survey Collection (current map data)

Digimap Ordnance Survey collection contains maps at scales ranging from 1:1,250 up to 1:750,000 available for making maps online or for download. There are scanned raster maps which are digital versions of Ordnance Survey's paper maps as well as vector maps at a range of scales including OS MasterMap® the most detailed large scale mapping.

The service includes many other products from Ordnance Survey including postcodes, administrative boundaries, a gazetteer of place names and digital terrain models.

Geology Digimap

Offers a range of onshore and offshore British Geological Survey mapping data products. It contains map data at scales ranging from 1:625,000 to 1:50,000 available for making maps online or for download.

Standard tasks that Geology Digimap allows you to perform are:

  • selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning
  • viewing maps at one of 12 pre-defined scales with Ordnance Survey background maps
  • click on rocks to get more information from the Lexicon of Rock Units about them
  • annotate the maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels
  • view photos of classic geological locations

 

Video tutorial: View OS maps with Digimap Roam

Historic Digimap

Offers a range of historical Ordnance Survey mapping data products from 1843 to 1996. These include 

  • all available County Series maps at 1:2,500 and 1:10,560 scales published between 1843 and 1939;
  • all available Town Plans at 1:500, 1:528 and 1:1,056 scales published from 1848 and 1939;
  • all available National Grid maps at 1:1,250, 1:2,500 and 1:10,560/10,000 scales published from 1945 and before the introduction of the Ordnance Survey's digital Land-Line product

Video tutorial: Using Historic Digimap to download georeferenced historic maps

Environment Digimap

Offers a range of Land Cover Map data products. 

These digital raster datasets, derived from satellite data collected by the Landsat 5 Thematic Mapper, provide classification of land cover types at a 25m resolution for the years of 1990, 2000 and 2007.  Classifications include sea and inland waters, bare, suburban and urban areas, arable farmland, pastures and meadows, rough grass, grass heaths and moors, bracken, dwarf shrub heaths and moorland, scrub, deciduous and evergreen woodland and upland and lowland bogs.

 

Environment Digimap: recorded webinar

Geology Digimap

Geology Digimap is part of the Digimap Collection of on-line mapping and data delivery facilities. Users can view maps through their web browser, save maps for printing and download the geological map data for use in geographical information systems.

What geological maps and data are available?

The following data are available as both maps generated online and as data to download:

  • 1:625,000 solid and drift geology, and linear features.
  • 1:250,000 solid geology and linear features
  • 1:50,000 solid and drift geology, mass movement, artificial ground and seven separate linear feature layers.

Geology Digimap provides:

  • An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, view and print geological maps.
  • A simple data download facility so that the maps you view can be downloaded to your computer for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software.
  • On-line help with using the Geology Digimap, and understanding the geological data and their use in Digimap and GIS software.

 

Geology Digimap: recorded webinar

Marine Digimap

Marine Digimap is part of the Digimap Collection of on-line mapping and data delivery facilities. Users will be able to view maps through their web browser, save them for printing and download the marine and coastal data for use in geographical information systems.

Marine Digimap provides the following:

  • Marine Roam: an easy to use interface to allow you to view and print HydroSpatial One data.
  • Chart Roam: an easy to use interface that allows you to view and print HydroView Charts.
  • Marine Lexicon: allows users to explore the symbols and abbreviations from Admiralty Charts which are used within Chart Roam.
  • Marine Download: a simple data download facility which allows you to search for and download HydroView Charts or HydroSpatial One data for your area of interest.

 

Video tutorial: Marine Digimap downloads

Copyright

Ordnance Survey maps and data within Digimap are protected by Crown Copyright.  They may be used by authorised users for educational purposes and limited administrative/external use, including teaching resources, assignments, theses, conference papers, academic and journal articles and location maps or directions for an educational establishment.  The following acknowledgement should be used: © Crown Copyright and Database Right [insert current year]. Ordnance Survey (Digimap Licence)

 

British Geological Survey maps and data within Digimap are protected by copyright owned by the Natural Environment Research Council.  They may be used for education purposes including teaching resources, assignments, theses, conference papers, academic and journal articles.  The following acknowledgement should be used:  Geological Map Data BGS © NERC [insert current year].