LibGuides: Physics: Finding conference proceedings and journal articles

Recommended databases for Physics

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Web of Science (All Subjects) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of all articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery since 1947, covering computing and information technology.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Lancaster University subscribes to the following collections:
*IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) - full text IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
*IEEE Standards Online - IEEE active, revised, archived, draft and redline versions
*Wake-up Radio
*Smart Grid Research
*MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection - full text access to all MIT Press ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 2015-2018
*IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - full text access to all IEEE-Wiley ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1872 to 2018
*Bell Labs Technical Journal - abstract records and full text articles published from 1922
*IBM Journal of Research and Development - abstract records and select full text published since 1957
*VDE VERLAG Conferences - abstract records and select full text published since 2005
*Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Computer Science eBooks Collection 2018
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Computer & Information Science eBooks Collections 5-8
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library eBooks Collections 8
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new window
American Mathematical Society's searchable database comprising Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Contains bibliographic records with abstracts (or reviews) of mathematics, statistics, computer science articles published, in more than 2,700 journals, book series and conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1940 - to present.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology & Medicine 1780-1925 This link opens in a new window
A digitised archive of journals, books, reports, and personal documents that explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge, tracing the changes from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology.
ScienceOpen This link opens in a new window
Science Open is a research aggregator and open access publishing platform. It indexes over 30 million articles and records from all areas of modern science, the humanities and social sciences.
Features useful filters to limit by discipline, and to limit to content types such as pre-prints and open access articles.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
First time users need to complete a registration process here.
Note: Use your Lancaster University email address to register.

Comprehensive information covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. It consists of CA Plus (formerly Chemical Abstracts) from 1907 onwards.
Guides on how to search and use SciFinder are available on their website.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier journals) This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of full-text journals, mainly in the sciences, but also includes other disciplines such as management, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Ideal for finding keywords/synonyms for your searching using the 'subject terms' tab at the top of the page.
The database contains full text for more than 10,000 journals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed titles.

Lancaster University subscribes to around 270 databases but not all will be relevant for your topic. You can find the key databases for your subject below, or through the Databases A - Z list.

Journal and review collections for Physics

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
American Geophysical Union Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AGU journals span a wide range of subjects in the Earth and space sciences.
American Physical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by the American Physical Society
Institute of Physics Journals This link opens in a new window
Search electronic journal articles from the Institute of Physics.

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
PROLA provides immediate access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal.

Top Tips: Using the digital Library to find journal articles and conference paper

This short video will show how to used Advanced Search in OneSearch to search for journal articles and conference papers.

The short video below will show you how to search for journals and conference papers using library databases.

Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the content of scholarly material published on the Web and in electronic books and journals.

Information on how to link to the full-text of articles via Google Scholar is available here or follow the short video tutorial below.

Key journals and Series for Physics

Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry
Contemporary Physics
Physics Reports
Physics Today
Publication from the American Institute of Physics
Reports on Progress in Physics
Reviews of Modern Physics
Royal Transactions of the Royal Society A
Physical sciences: themed issues

Physics: Finding conference proceedings and journal articles

Recommended databases for Physics

Journal and review collections for Physics

Top Tips: Using the digital Library to find journal articles and conference paper

Key journals and Series for Physics

Advice on academic reading