A guide to the main e-book collections available from Lancaster University Library. Most individual e-book titles are listed in the Library Catalogue.
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2013
What are e-books?
The Library has access to thousands of e-books, from a number of different publishers and providers.
These are books you can read online via your pc, laptop or mobile device.
Most e-Books are listed in OneSearch.
Why use e-books?
- e-Books are available 24/7
- access them on and off campus
- search within the full-text for your topic
- avoid waiting for reservations
- you don't pay library fines
Can I print from an e-Book?
- e-Books are subject to copyright and Digital Rights Management (DRM)
- DRM controls what you can do with an eBook in terms of printing, downloading and copying and pasting
- e-Books are subject to the same copyright restrictions as print books so you can normally only print 5% of the total pages, from a book or download a chapter or section.
- DRM is established by the various e-Book providers and restrictions on printing/downloading are not imposed by the Library
Can I save from an e-Book?
Publishers do not usually allow users to save large sections of an e-Book. If saving is allowed, there may be restrictions on how long for.
Can I make notes in an e-Book?
Systems vary between providers, but they may offer an option to create a personal account or bookshelf. Check the database help pagess for more information.
Recommended e-book databases covering all subject areas
- MyiLibrary ebooks
A growing collection of e-books covering a range of subject areas. Currently contains over 2,000 titles.
Printing restrictions: 10 pages per session.
- Dawsonera eBooks
A growing collection of e-books from a range of major publishers.
- Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks
A collection of e-books published by Oxford University Press. Subjects include: Biology, Business & Management, Economics, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, & Social Work.
- Credo Reference eBooks
Offering 551 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo General Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of reference e-books, available to Lancaster University members.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
e-book databases for specific subjects
- ACLS Humanities E-Books
A large collection of e-books. Subjects include: history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in the library catalogue.
- IEEE Wiley eBooks 1974-2011
Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2011.
- IGI Global Adult Learning Technologies
This collection of 16 scholarly titles addresses in-demand topics on higher, adult, and distance education, professional development and ePortfolios, collaborative and self-directed learning, and much more.
- IGI Global Gaming Technologies Collection
As one of the most rapidly growing areas of applied research, this collection of 14 scholarly titles offers a complete library of books on serious games, intelligent gaming technologies, and gaming in education.
- IGI Global Information Warfare and Homeland Security Collection
This collection of 18 scholarly titles covers topics on cyber warfare and terrorism, digital crime and forensics, and information security and privacy.
- Royal Society of Chemistry eBooks
Scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact books.
- Springer Business & Economics e-books (2008)
A collection of over 200 business and economics e-books published in 2008 by Springer.
- Springer Business & Economics e-books (2009)
A collection of 263 business and economics e-books published in 2009 by Springer.
- Springer Business & Economics e-books (2010)
A collection of 235 business and economics e-books published in 2010 by Springer.
- Springer Business & Economics e-books (2011)
A collection of 248 business and economics e-books published in 2011 by Springer
- Springer Computer Science e-books (2009)
A collection of 868 computer science e-books published in 2009 by Springer.
- Springer Computer Science e-books (2010)
A collection of 903 computer science e-books published by Springer in 2010.
- Springer Computer Science e-books (2011)
A collection of 1,049 computer science e-books published by Springer in 2011.
- Springer Computer Science e-books (2012)
A collection of computer science e-books published by Springer in 2012.
- Springer Humanities, Social Sciences & Law e-books (2012)
A collection of 490 humanities, social science, and law e-books published in 2012 by Springer.
e-book collections of early printed material
- 19th Century British Pamphlets
This collection, created by RLUK (Research Libraries UK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
- Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Cengage)
A comprehensive digital collection of 150,000 rare English-language and foreign-language editions published in Great Britain during the eighteenth century.
- JISC Historic Books
JISC Historic Books enables you to cross-search over 300,000 historical books published in English or in England before 1800, plus 65,000 19th century books.
The titles come from EBBO (Early English Books Online), ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online) & the British Library.