Unlock instant & legal access to millions of free academic papers.
Did you know that over a third of all academic papers have a free-to-read version available? Our free plug-in unlocks access instantly and legally to millions of these papers, saving you time and money.
Cogent OA is a multidisciplinary series of broad-scope open access journals, helping researchers share their ideas and discoveries as widely and effectively as possible.
SAGE Open is an open access publication from SAGE. It publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
The Institution of Engineering and TechnologyWe are the IET and we inspire, inform and influence the global engineering community to engineer a better world. As a diverse home across engineering and technology, we share knowledge that helps make better sense of the world in order to solve the challenges that matter. It’s why we are uniquely placed to champion engineering.
Open access to over one million research papers in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. These are often author versions of articles intended for publication in scholarly publications.
NORA is the Institutional Repository for research publications and outcomes of staff at the British Antarctic Survey, British Geological Survey, National Oceanography Centre, and UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.
zbMATH Open provides easy access to bibliographic data, reviews and abstracts from all areas of pure mathematics as well as applications, in particular to natural sciences, computer science, economics and engineering. It also covers history and philosophy of mathematics and university education.
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
ADS maintains three bibliographic collections containing more than 15 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS modern search form as well as a classic search form. A browsable paper form is also available.
We index over 250M scholarly works from 250k sources, with extra coverage of humanities, non-English languages, and the Global South.
We link these works to 90M disambiguated authors and 100k institutions, as well as enriching them with topic information, SDGs, citation counts, and much more.
Artstor’s ever-growing Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.
EPrints is Lancaster University's institutional repository and its remit is to capture and preserve the intellectual output of Lancaster University and make it available over the Web.
Unlock instant & legal access to millions of free academic papers.
Did you know that over a third of all academic papers have a free-to-read version available? Our free plug-in unlocks access instantly and legally to millions of these papers, saving you time and money.
Browser extension for Chrome and Firefox that searches over 95 million records from 50,000 journals and open access repositories to find a legal, free-to-access version.
The Google Scholar Button provides quick access to Google Scholar from any web page via a pop-up window that finds citations when you click on the Google Scholar icon
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
There are approximately 440,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 160,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 240,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
The resources listed in this guide are Open Access, which means they are freely available for anyone to read online.
