LibGuides: Health Research: News and Media Resources

Current Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

FT.com
Online access to the Financial Times includes a searchable archive of news from 5 different editions: UK, Europe, US, Asia and Middle East.

more... less...

If you experience difficulties accessing the full-text. Click on My Account and sign out. Close your browser, and return to link and login.

NEXIS This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.

Television and Film

BBC Archive
Publicly available archive of selected highlights from the BBC over the last 75 years.

Box of Broadcasts (Bob) This link opens in a new window
BoB is an off-air recording and broadcast media archive service available to Higher Education Institutions providing access to TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option.

It includes a permanent archive of all broadcast content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra.
There is an option to schedule recordings up to seven days in advance and request programmes broadcast over the previous 30 days.
British Council Film Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.
European Film Gateway This link opens in a new window
Historical documents preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programs, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
Henry Stewart Talks (Business & Management Collection) This link opens in a new window
Contains online video lectures and case studies, presented by over 850 experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia. Until 23rd May 2020 access to 20 peer-reviewed journals in marketing, management, banking and finance are available on a trial basis.
Internet Moving Image Archive This link opens in a new window
Large online archive of ephemeral films, documentaries, educational films, industrial films, home movies, news reels, advertisements and more.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to over 18,000 films. You will find a range of films including documentaries and world cinema.
The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation that allow users to share videos.
Teachers TV This link opens in a new window
Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

BoB is a service from the British Film and Video Council that enables you to record and view TV and radio online from over 65 free-to-air channels in the UK, including an archive of over 1,000,000 programmes.

BoB is available to staff, students and researchers in the UK.

Online Lectures

The Henry Stewart Talks (Business and Management Collection) contains over 900 specially prepared online video lectures and case studies by experts from business, industry, the professions and academia.

New content is added regularly, and the lectures & presentations can be filtered by subject area, and by level of study, from introductory to advanced.

BFI Player

All staff and students can now access exceptional cinema free of charge as part of the University's collaboration with the BFI (British Film Institute).

How do I access BFI Player?

Go to this link https://player.bfi.org.uk/sign-in to creat an account OR to sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'

Select Lancaster University from the dropdown list
Authenticate your subscription using your university credentials

Once you've set up your account, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year.

Please be aware that BFI Player is only available within the UK, and rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer.

You can sign up to BFI’s monthly student newsletter, which features film recommendations, wider BFI opportunities and exclusive competitions.

Newspaper and Magazine Archives

Bloomberg Businessweek Archive This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg Businessweek Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.
Chicago Defender Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The Chicago Defender newspaper archive.
Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2016) This link opens in a new window
An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London) between 1896 and 2016.
Daily Mirror Archive (1903 to 31st July 2023) (UK Press Online) This link opens in a new window
PDF images of the Daily Mirror, from its first issue in 1903 to 31st July 2023 - for access to later issues, please use the Gale OneFile database - https://onesearch.lancaster-university.uk/permalink/f/cssk39/44LAN_ALMA_DS51175607340001221
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.
Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.
Financial Times Historic Archive (1888-2021) This link opens in a new window
An online, fully searchable facsimile, Gale's Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a near-complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through to 2021. Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
This historical archive is a comprehensive research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years.
Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues that were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In more recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).
Guardian & Observer Historic Archive (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full text access to the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003).
Independent (The) Historical Archive, 1986-2016 This link opens in a new window
Ever since it was launched in 1986, The Independent has enjoyed a reputation for quality and innovation, something Andreas Whittam-Smith and his two co-founders, Stephen Glover and Matthew Symonds, made as a guiding principle when they conceived the idea of a new, upmarket British newspaper.
Illustrated London News Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
With its debut in 1842, the Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science) with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research. Areas include:
* The Arts
* Discovery and Exploration
* Fashion
* Industry and Trade
* Military History
* Politics
* Science, Medicine and Progress
* Social History
* Sports
* Transport
* Travel
International Herald Tribune Archive (1887-2013) This link opens in a new window
Sold in over 160 countries and read worldwide, the International Herald Tribune is one of the most innovative and original newspapers, famous for its objective and clear coverage. Bringing an international perspective, it provides a valuable counterpoint to the Anglo-American press, adding a new dimension to research. The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1851-2013.
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text of the New York Times back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Researchers can study the progression of events over time by browsing issues of The New York Times, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
Picture Post Archive (1938-1957) This link opens in a new window
Picture Post’s innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
Above all, this resource provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things—from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster—all caught in a single moment in time.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2021 This link opens in a new window
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own remit and perspective on the news.
In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
Telegraph Historical Archive (1855-2016) This link opens in a new window
The Telegraph Historical Archive is the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. Researchers and students can full-text search across 1 million pages of the newspaper's backfile from its first issue to the end of 2016, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new window
A full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-2019.
Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1838-2007.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
In its pages, The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led
to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil
disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir
region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the
Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear
power. And, it provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.
Washington Post Archive (1877-2004) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Health Research: News and Media Resources