The Times Literary Supplement is considered the "world’s leading journal for literature and ideas" publishing book reviews, book extracts, essays and poems together with film, opera, theatre, dance, radio and television reviews.
The library has both the full archive (1902-2019) and access through to the current issue.
For over a century, the Times Literary Supplement has been the world's leading cultural magazine, with essays and reviews on the most significant books, ideas and art of our times. Every week you’ll find over 40 reviews and essays, from Shakespeare to Schopenhauer, popular theatre to political theory.
Issues available from January 2010.
Founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Times (London), for more than 100 years the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The value of this archive lies in its reach, offering comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages. Many of the world’s most notable writers, critics and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion and perspective.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Nexis provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.
A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).
Coverage: 1851-2013.
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text of the New York Times back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Researchers can study the progression of events over time by browsing issues of The New York Times, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
Coverage: 1838-2007.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
In its pages, The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led
to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil
disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir
region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the
Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear
power. And, it provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.
BoB is an off-air recording and broadcast media archive service available to Higher Education Institutions providing access to TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option.
It includes a permanent archive of all broadcast content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra.
There is an option to schedule recordings up to seven days in advance and request programmes broadcast over the previous 30 days.
Historical documents preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programs, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
Kanopy provides access to over 18,000 films. You will find a range of films including documentaries and world cinema.
The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation that allow users to share videos.
Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.
Listen to a selection from the British Library's extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds
This link opens in a new window
