Geography

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Nexis provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.

The Bloomberg Businessweek Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.

Searchable full-text and page images from The Chicago Defender newspaper archive.

An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London) between 1896 and 2016.

PDF images of the Daily Mirror, from its first issue in 1903 to 31st July 2023 - for access to later issues, please use the Gale OneFile database - https://onesearch.lancaster-university.uk/permalink/f/cssk39/44LAN_ALMA_DS51175607340001221

The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.

An online, fully searchable facsimile, Gale's Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a near-complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through to 2021. Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).

Searchable, full text access to the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003).

Ever since it was launched in 1986, The Independent has enjoyed a reputation for quality and innovation, something Andreas Whittam-Smith and his two co-founders, Stephen Glover and Matthew Symonds, made as a guiding principle when they conceived the idea of a new, upmarket British newspaper.

With its debut in 1842, the Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science) with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace.

Sold in over 160 countries and read worldwide, the International Herald Tribune is one of the most innovative and original newspapers, famous for its objective and clear coverage. Bringing an international perspective, it provides a valuable counterpoint to the Anglo-American press, adding a new dimension to research. The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

Coverage: 1851-2013.
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text of the New York Times back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Picture Post’s innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.

Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own remit and perspective on the news.

The Telegraph Historical Archive is the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. Researchers and students can full-text search across 1 million pages of the newspaper's backfile from its first issue to the end of 2016, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.

A full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-2019.

Coverage: 1838-2007.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.

The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues.

This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

BoB is an off-air recording and broadcast media archive service available to Higher Education Institutions providing access to TV and radio programmes from over 65 'free-to-air' channels using a programme guide and a search option.

An archive of 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.

Historical documents preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programs, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.

Contains online video lectures and case studies, presented by over 850 experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia. Until 23rd May 2020 access to 20 peer-reviewed journals in marketing, management, banking and finance are available on a trial basis.

Large online archive of ephemeral films, documentaries, educational films, industrial films, home movies, news reels, advertisements and more.

Kanopy provides access to over 18,000 films. You will find a range of films including documentaries and world cinema.
The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation that allow users to share videos.

Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

Listen to a selection from the British Library's extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds

An online music library offering streaming access to many thousands of CDs, across all genres of music. Hundreds of new titles are added each month.