LibGuides: Business and Management: Getting Started

Where to start your search

Whilst the physical library building is closed, OneSearch has been configured to search full text online only.

You can change this filter once you have performed your search - the usual options 'Books & More', 'Articles & More' and 'Everything' are available in the drop-down.

Subject Specific databases

Key databases to expand your research.

ABI/Inform Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of business journals, magazines and newspapers, covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information.
Business Source Complete
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; health care management; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.

Also includes: author profiles; books & monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; company profiles; industry reports; interviews; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.
Emerald Business and Management Journals
Subject coverage includes: Business Management & Strategy; Human Resources, Learning & Organzation; Marketing; Operations, Logisitics & Quality.
Entrepreneurship Database
- This link opens in a new window
A variety of discovery and advisory tools specific to the need of entrepreneurship. These include, video clips, market research, start-up plans, journal content, business cases, working papers, conference proceedings and full-text dissertations.
ProQuest Business Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text business databases, including ABI/Inform, Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source, Asian Business and Reference and Entrepreneurship.
Henry Stewart Talks (Business & Management Collection)
Contains online video lectures and case studies, presented by over 850 experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia. Until 23rd May 2020 access to 20 peer-reviewed journals in marketing, management, banking and finance are available on a trial basis.
XpertHR
An online resource for employment law, HR good practice and benchmarking.
To log in using your Lancaster credentials select: 'Login' followed by 'UK Federation (Shibboleth)'. Lastly select Lancaster University from the drop-down of institutions.

Market research databases

Sources for finding market research information.

Global Market Information Database (Passport GMID)
Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers published by Euromonitor.
Business Market Research Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Coversge: 1986 - current
MarketLine Advantage
Accurate, up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world, delivered in a format that is easy to use and understand.
Mintel Academic
Selection of market research reports, news and analysis in the retail and technology sectors.
Report categories include: Drink, Food, Food Service, Leisure, Media, & Technology.
NEXIS
Nexis provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.
Statista (including Global Consumer Survey)
Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative, time-saving and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics aggregating from 18,000 sources and on 75,000 different topics.

The Statista Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
WARC (World Advertising Research Center)
Provides intelligence for the marketing, advertising, media and research communities worldwide, drawn from more than 50 international sources, including WARC's own publications.

Featured Database

SAGE Research Methods Online supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.

It comprises:

- 1000 books, reference works, journal articles by world-leading academics and bespoke tools such as the Methods Map and the Project Planner to navigate through specific methods or parts of the research process

- Case studies which provide invaluable classroom material to learn from real instances of data collection and hands-on data analysis practice

- SAGE Research Methods Video spanning two collections with a total of 185+ hours of video, with tutorials, expert interviews, documentaries, courses, and research methods recorded in action

You can find all you need to know on the Sage Research Methods Online LibGuide

Multidisciplinary Databases (Full-text)

Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary full text database that includes peer-reviewed academic journals as well as general magazines and news sources.

The database contains full text for more than 10,000 journals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier journals)
Contains thousands of full-text journals, mainly in the sciences, but also includes other disciplines such as management, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Springer Link
Online collection of journals and books published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley journals and e-books. Please note, Lancaster University does not have access to all titles published by Wiley.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (with full-text)
PQDTGlobal is considered the world’s most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. The collection comprises millions of searchable citations from 1861 through to the present day, together with over a million full-text, graduate dissertations and theses added since 1997. Annually, around 70,000 new, full-text documents are added to the collection from 700+ academic institutions worldwide.

Multidisciplinary Databases (Abstracting & Indexing Services)

Web of Science (All Subjects)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.

All Business Databases

Databases are a good way of finding information on your topic as they index and provide access to lots of different types of material - journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, reports, etc.

View all Business databases

Recommend a purchase

Is there a book we don't have that would make a useful addition to the library? If so, please use the Request a Resource form to let us know.

We welcome suggestions for both academic and leisure reading titles. We also encourage recommendations that might help to diversify our collection.

Business and Management

Online Help and Chat

LUMS Faculty Librarian

LUMS Faculty Librarian (Content)

Get help and support from the Library

Quick Links