LibGuides: CETAD: Health Management & Health Economics

Subject databases

Health economics in health and medical databases

You will find Health Economics and Policy information with in the key subject databases for Health, Medicine and Social Work.

Use a line in your search which includes search terms such as 'economic* OR cost OR costs OR financ* OR "health technology assessment"'.
Alternatively, subject headings in each database can be used to add precision searching. e.g. Economics, Hospitals; Health Expenditures; Health Care Costs; Costs and Costs Analysis.
In Medline, the subheading /economics can also be used.

AMED (Alternative Medicine) This link opens in a new window
An alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for nursing research. Covers nursing, public health, alternative/complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and 17 allied health disciplines.
Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters, journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of several thousand journals in the fields of health, medicine and biomedical engineering. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
It includes full-text access to over 2,300 journal titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Psychological Association (APA), this database contains millions of abstracts, citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, dating back to the 1600s.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New interface from May 2020. The National Library of Medicine's free search service, providing access to millions of citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases.
Social Care Online (SCIE) This link opens in a new window
Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, books, text books and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains around 155,000 records from the 1980s onwards.

Please Note: Social Care Online is free to search but to use all of its features you will need a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account. If you do not have a SCIE account, please use the 'Sign up today' link' to go to the SCIE site. Once you have registered, you can return to Social Care Online and login using the details you gave us.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Subjects covered include gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus provides full-text content from many respected journals in sports and sports medicine studies. Subject coverage includes fitness, health, and sport studies.
Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care with a strong focus on highlighting evidence-based resources. Trip searches PubMed, National and International guidelines, systematic reviews, clinical trials databases, blogs, leaflets, primary research and much more.

Find more databases on the Databases A-Z.

King's Fund Library

King's Fund Library Database
covers books, reports and journal articles on health services, primarily in the UK.
King's Fund reading lists
Up-to-date reading lists on a wide variety of health management topics, such as clinical governance, leadership in the NHS and clinican-led change. They cover a wide range of print and web resources, including government and charity documents

Health Economics Network

Part of the SSRN (Social Science Research Network) eLibrary relating to Health Economics. Includes open access working papers, conference papers and journals articles from health economics researchers worldwide. Subject matter eJournals are papers arranged into Health Economics topics.

RePEC (Research Papers in Economics)

IDEAS RePEC
IDEAS is a large bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,300,000 items of research, including over 3,100,000 that can be downloaded in full text.

The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research.

Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.