Ebooks

The Library provides access to thousands of ebooks.

These include online versions of:

• recommended texts on reading lists
• well used print titles
• publisher collections to support research projects
• encyclopedias & dictionaries
• historical texts

Most ebooks allow you to:

• access them, both on and off campus
• read them online and on mobile devices
• print sections within copyright law
• do key word searches
• make electronic notes
• export references to citation management programmes

How do I find an ebook?

All ebooks are in OneSearch, and are linked to your reading list in Moodle if available. You can also search for ebook collections within the Database A-Z list where you can filter by database type (eBooks) to see all the major collections available.

Can I read an ebook if someone else is reading it?

Most ebooks allow more than one person to read them at the same time. Some ebooks do limit the number of simultaneous users and you may be prompted to try again later.

What devices can I use to access an ebook?

Any computer, eReader, mobile device, tablet or smartphone that has wi-fi or network capabilities and a web browser can access our eBooks online. These include:

• Mac, PC workstation and laptop computers
• iPads, Samsung Galaxy and other tablets
• Tablet readers like the KindleFire

Can I print, copy or download from an ebook?

Like physical books, library eBooks are protected by copyright law, and for many ebooks this is controlled automatically by Digital Rights Management (DRM) software. The amount you can download, copy or print varies between publishers and titles. For each title the amount available will be displayed when you select the desired option.

What software do I need to download?

Adobe Reader software is required to print, copy or download most ebooks. If you are using your own PC, you can download the software for free from the Adobe website.

Please note: You will not be able to download an ebook to a Lancaster University owned PC, but you will be able to read the book online.

Do I have to be online to read a downloaded ebook?

No, you should be able to read the ebook offline once downloaded. When the download period has expired (which is controlled automatically), you will have to go online to download again if you want to continue using it.

How long can I download an ebook for?

Some ebook platforms restrict the number of days (if any) an ebook title can be downloaded for, but in general the time allowed is between 4 and 7 days.

Many publisher sites such as Cambridge, Springer and Wiley allow you to download and save individual chapters as PDF documents.

The Library's leisure reading collection on OverDrive contains ebooks, audiobooks, gaphic novels, and magazines. Choose from a wide range of genres including, contemporary & classic fiction, crime, science fiction, horror, humour, popular science, wellbeing and many more.

Download the free Libby app on your phone or tablet today to access ebooks, magazines & graphic novels.

Watch this getting started video to learn how to use the app to borrow and start reading or listening to titles.