EndNote Online Guide

You can link to Word using EndNote’s Cite While You Write function.  On your own device you first need to download the plugin from EndNote Online. 

Select Downloads and follow the instructions under Cite While You Write, either Download Windows or Download Macintosh.    Don't use Windows MSI.  Remember to do this with Word closed.

  Make sure you select Cite While You Write at the appropriate point; there is also the option to download a plug in for IE which allows you to create references from web pages.  You should now have the EndNote Online toolbar available in Word. 

If the tab says EndNote X9, use the Preferences, Application option to change this to EndNote Online.  Don't enter your account details into the dialogue box.

If you are using EndNote online on a library/computer lab pc, you must launch EndNote desktop (X9) via AppsAnywhere before you open Word.  Minimise all EndNote X9 windows that pop up.  Change the application as described above.

EndNote can display the information in your library in a range of different bibliographic styles.  You can select the style you need:

• Click on the Style drop down list, then Select another style... at the top of the list.

• Select the desired style, choosing from thousands of possible styles produced by journal editors and professional bodies.  If you are a student, your department will tell you the style you need to use; the information is often in your departmental handbook.
• If you use the Harvard style, remember that the elements of the reference and the order they come in are standard, but there are many variation in formatting,.  The Library has developed a version of Harvard - Harvard (Lancaster University Library) which is available in EndNote online, along with a Harvard (Lancaster University Library) guide to help you use it.  This style is used in LUMS, Educational Research, PPR and Sociology.

Harvard (Lancaster University Library) style of referencing is a version of Harvard used across departments at Lancaster University.  You can create a reference list using Harvard (Lancaster University Library) either from within EndNote Online or through the Cite While You Write plug-in for EndNote Online.

Creating an independent bibliography in EndNote Online

From the Format menu, click on Bibliography.

From the Bibliographic style drop-down select Harvard (Lancaster University Library).

Creating an reference list using the Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in for Microsof Word 

Follow the instructions for downloading the CCWYW plug-in.  In Microsoft Word, select the EndNote tab and from the Style drop down click on 'Select another style' and select Harvard (Lancaster University Library.

If the referencing style is not showing in the list, connect to Lancaster University VPN.  For instructions on how to set up the VPN see the VPN help webpage. 

Click on 'Select another style' once more, and the plug-in will update the list of available styles.

• In the Word document, position the cursor where you wish to insert a citation. 
• On the EndNote Online tab, click on Find Citations. 
• Search for your reference and when it is displayed on screen, click on Insert.

• As well as inserting the citation, EndNote builds the bibliography at the end of the document:

• 

Any amendments to the citation or bibliography must be made using EndNote Online, not in Word, or the changes will be lost when any new citations are added.  Click on the citation then

• Click on Edit Citation(s).
• Make the required changes, for example excluding the author or adding page numbers, then click on OK.
• Page number information is added in different places depending on the style.  In the Harvard and APA styles, the information goes into the suffix field; you need to add the necessary spacing and punctuation manually, eg “: p. 67”.  In footnoted styles like Chicago and OSCOLA, the information goes into the Pages field and punctuation is supplied by the style.

Changes to the bibliography need to be made in the EndNote library first and then pulled through to the document.  After editing the reference in your EndNote library, click on the citation in your document, then

• Click on Edit Citations
• Click on the Edit Reference drop down list and select Update from My Library
• Select the reference and click Insert and OK

You can also create an independent bibliography to add to a document. 

• Copy the required references from All My References to the Quick list – check and click Copy to quick list.

• Click Format and Bibliography.
• Select Quick List, the required bibliographic style and the file format you need.
• Click on Save or other output option.

Citations replaced by code and angle brackets

These are the normally hidden field codes in Word, eg:

<EndNote><Cite><Author>Moir</Author><Year>2002</Year><RecNum>1676</RecNum><Display

To remove them, select Alt + F9.

The EndNote tab in Word has disappeared

The link between EndNote and Word has become corrupted. To solve this you need to enable the relevant plugins again. Click on File and Options in Word. Next click on Add-Ins on the left. In the Manage: drop-down list at the bottom of the page, click on Disabled Items and then on Go. Select the EndNote plugins and click Enable.

Open Office does not have a link to EndNote Online, but you can insert your citations manually and then create an independent reference list using the Format - Bibliography options described in the box titled Creating an independent bibliography.

Alternatively you can  format your citations manually in an EndNote Online copmpatible format and use EndNote to create the reference list: type your citations in the format {Smith, 2009} and save your file as Rich Text Format (.RTF). In EndNote online select Format then Format paper. Browse for your saved file, select your output style (eg Harvard Lancaster) and click Format. You can then view or save your document.

If you need to remove In-text citations from your paper for an accurate word count, please review the FAQ How do I exclude the in-text citations from my word count?