LibGuides: Languages & Cultures: Getting Started

Start your search: OneSearch

The default search in OneSearch is Everything. You can change this to Books and more, Articles and more or Full text online once you have run your search.

Library Skills @Lancaster

Library Skills @Lancaster is designed to help students, researchers and staff to learn information literacy skills, develop a critical approach to dealing with information and to make the best use of the physical and digital library.

Click here to find out more and sign up for upcoming workshops

Recommended databases

Here are some general databases to expand your research.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full text database that includes peer-reviewed academic journals as well as general magazines and news sources.
The database contains full text for more than 10,000 journals including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in the visual and applied arts.
Subject coverage includes: literature, art, philosophy, linguistics, architecture, history, social sciences, humanities, music, design, photography, etc.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
NEXIS This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Reliable source of high quality content in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies.

Subject databases

Language databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to research in linguistics and language development.
MLA International Bibliography with full text
Access arrangements have changed for this resource - please contact your content Faculty Librarian: facultylibrarians@lancaster.ac.uk
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
CNKI (China Academic Journal Database - English language interface) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese Journals. Collections available: Medicine & Public Health; Literature, History, & Philosophy; Politics, Military Affairs, & Law; Education, & Social Sciences; Economic, & Management.
CNKI (China Academic Journal Database - Simplified Chinese interface) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese Journals. Collections available: Medicine & Public Health; Literature, History, & Philosophy; Politics, Military Affairs, & Law; Education, & Social Sciences; Economic, & Management.

Languages & Cultures

Quick Links

Get help and support from the Library

Faculty Librarian FASS