LibGuides: Mathematics and Statistics: Finding books and eBooks

Technical ebook collections

Most of your modules will have a reading list to help you find out more about your subject, and your tutors will guide you in what you need to read and when. Look for the green jigsaw icon in moodle.

Listed below are some of the eBook collections which focus on engineering, computer science and related topics that you may find useful for your studies.

To find out more about finding and using eBooks, have a look at the eBook guide, which provides guidance in using the different eBook platforms.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Lancaster University subscribes to the following collections:
*IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) - full text IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
*IEEE Standards Online - IEEE active, revised, archived, draft and redline versions
*Wake-up Radio
*Smart Grid Research
*MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection - full text access to all MIT Press ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 2015-2018
*IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - full text access to all IEEE-Wiley ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1872 to 2018
*Bell Labs Technical Journal - abstract records and full text articles published from 1922
*IBM Journal of Research and Development - abstract records and select full text published since 1957
*VDE VERLAG Conferences - abstract records and select full text published since 2005
*Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Computer Science eBooks Collection 2018
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Computer & Information Science eBooks Collections 5-8
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library eBooks Collections 8
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks on Engineering and related topics.
Knovel’s content includes more than 120,000 interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel or PTC’s Mathcad.
MIT Computing & Engineering eBooks This link opens in a new window
Titles published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) between 2015 and 2019 in computer science and engineering technologies
Morgan & Claypool Engineering & Computer Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic books (or lectures) focusing on engineering and computer science.

Using OneSearch to search around your topic

Basic Search | Advanced Search

Whilst many of us continue to study and work from home, OneSearch has been configured to search electronic collections only.

You can change this filter once you have performed your search - the usual options 'Books & More', 'Articles & More' and 'Everything' are available in the drop-down.

How to find ebooks in OneSearch

To find out how to find ebooks within OneSearch have a look at the short video tutorial below

Well-Being and Leisure Reading Collections

The library has a growing collection of leisure and well-being titles.

In the library you'll find print titles at the beginning of the sequence on A-Floor and displayed on stands in the central atrium. You can also search OneSearch using the keywords LeisureReadingLU or WellbeingLU to view titles that are available in these collections, whether they be available in print or electronically.

We also have a specially curated online resource list linking to well-being titles.

Finding Mathematics and Statistics books in the Library

Here are some of the key classmarks in the area of Mathematics and Statistics:

Subject	Classmark
Algebra	AO-AQ
Analysis, Calculus	AR
Arithmetic	AN
Computational linguistics	W87
Differential equations	ARP
Epidemiology	HQZ
Geometry	AT-AV
Logic	AL
Mathematics (General)	AM
Mathematics education	AM8
Mathematics for engineers	UEAA
Metrology	AX
Number theory	AOE
Operational Research	AYL
Probability	AYD
Statistics	AY
Statistics for social studies	K45
Trigonometry	AWF-AWL

Books are organised by classmark within each major subject areas. Mathematics books are arranged on the shelf in the following order:

Capitals	AM
Numbers	AM1
Stops	AM4.R1

Numbers are ordered decimally, ie 1, 11, 2, 21, 3

Recommend a resource

Is there a book or other resource that we don't have that would make a useful addition to the library? If so, please use the Request a Resource form to let us know.

We welcome suggestions for both academic and leisure reading titles. We also encourage recommendations that might help to diversify our collection.