LibGuides: Sports and Exercise Science: Finding Articles

Subject databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, and allied health disciplines including physical therapy and athletic training.
Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters, journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
It includes full-text access to over 2,300 journal titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Psychological Association (APA), this database, this database is the key psychology database. It includes all aspects of psychology, including sports and exercise psychology.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus provides full-text content from many respected journals in sports and sports medicine studies. Subject coverage includes fitness, health, and sport studies.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Search a large collection of science, technology and medical journals published by BioMed Central
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of several thousand journals in the fields of health, medicine and biomedical engineering. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.

Use OneSearch to find and access all the journals available from the Library.

Search tips for OneSearch:

Select the Articles & More tab then enter some keywords which describe the subject you are researching, or the specific article you are looking for.
Once your results have been returned, you can use the Refine My Results option to show just Articles.

Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the content of scholarly material published on the Web and in electronic books and journals.

Information on how to link to the full-text of articles via Google Scholar is available here.

Can't find the article you want? Put in a request via our Interlending and Document Supply service.