LibGuides: Neurodiversity: Explore our library collections

Autism research: Journals

The following journals are available through the Library:

Autism research: books

Autism research: databases

The following databases may be useful for researching areas relating to the autism spectrum:

ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
Search or browse over 200 medical textbooks, 85,000 images and 850 associated videos. You can also create notes, bookmarks and highlights to review later or share with others.
Please note: First-time users will need to register to create a personal profile. If you already have a personal account for Scopus or ScienceDirect, you can use this to login to ClinicalKey.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to research in linguistics and language development.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
It includes full-text access to over 2,300 journal titles.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Thousands of articles from over 100 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), with coverage going back to 1894.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Psychological Association (APA), this database contains millions of abstracts, citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, dating back to the 1600s.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New interface from May 2020. The National Library of Medicine's free search service, providing access to millions of citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier journals) This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of full-text journals, mainly in the sciences, but also includes other disciplines such as management, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Social Care Online (SCIE) This link opens in a new window
Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, books, text books and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains around 155,000 records from the 1980s onwards.

Please Note: Social Care Online is free to search but to use all of its features you will need a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account. If you do not have a SCIE account, please use the 'Sign up today' link' to go to the SCIE site. Once you have registered, you can return to Social Care Online and login using the details you gave us.
Web of Science (All Subjects) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.