Biomedical and Life Sciences: Getting Started

Basic Search | Advanced Search 

The default search in OneSearch is Everything. You can change this to Books and more, Articles and more or Full text online once you have run your search.

This interactive online tutorial: Getting started with OneSearch will help you get started using the Library's discovery tool.

At the end of this course, you will:

• Know what OneSearch is and why you should use it
• Be able to sign in and use OneSearch when off-campus
• Be able to use OneSearch to find and read an ebook
• Be able to use OneSearch to find and read an academic journal article

Do you use Paper Panda 2, Sci-Hub or Z-Library? Do you want easy, legal and fast access to full-text journal articles and eBooks?

The Library offers both the Lean Library and EndNote Click browser extensions, which streamline access to full text.

With these browser extensions you can....

Automatically download full-text both on and off campus

Link to eBooks when available in the library collection, so you don't have to purchase.

Download citations to reference management systems.

When full-text or books are unavailable, directly link to the interlibrary loan request form on OneSearch.

Find out more and install a browser extension at https://lancaster.libguides.com/apps/articles

Medline provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals covering a wide range of subjects.  It is fully indexed using MeSH terms, giving a more focused search, and includes full-text access to over 2,300 journal titles.  Pubmed is an interface used to search Medline.  Access Medline, plus much more, via the Library Database A-Z.