LibGuides: English Literature and Creative Writing: Medieval to Early Modern

Books from the Faculty

Library Databases

Bible in English This link opens in a new window 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
Early European Books Parts 1-4 This link opens in a new window Largely made up of non-English materials from the fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Subject coverage: European history and literature; Religion and politics; Philosophy and classical thinkers; Early medicine and science; Travel literature
Library of Latin Texts (Series A) This link opens in a new window Thousands of Latin texts from Antiquity to the twentieth century.
Manchester Medieval Sources Online This link opens in a new window From the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasion, MMSO brings alive the reality of life in the medieval world through these first hand accounts, many translated into English for the first time.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Literature brings together a comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.

Medieval Manuscripts Online

Digitized Medieval Manuscripts - Links to over 300 libraries with digitized manuscripts. The collection includes the Ancrene Wisse, the Brut Chronicle, and of the finest copies of Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde.
British Library Digitized Manuscripts - The British Library's collection of digitized medieval manuscripts
Manuscripts online - Online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500.

Resource Spotlight: Early Modern English Drama

Early Modern English Drama - a digitized collection of plays from Shakespeare's contemporaries that can be read online

Kanopy

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides a range of documentaries and films which are searchable by subject. You can curate your own watchlists and create clips for teaching and sharing.

Useful Web Resources for Medieval Studies

The Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales - A volume of introductory chapters for first-time, university-level readers of Geoffrey Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales. The chapters have been created and edited by professional scholars of Chaucer, and all material is released open access.
TEAMS Middle English Texts Series - Searchable database of online editions of works by John Gower, Robert Henryson, John Lydgate, Margery Kempe and The York Corpus Christi Plays.
Parker Library on the Web - The Parker Library is the rare books and manuscripts library of Corpus Christi.
Middle English Compendium - Middle English Dictionary, bibliography and collection of prose writing.
International Medieval Sourcebook - a wide selection of historical texts presented for educational use by the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies. Includes the Canterbury Tales and medieval spiritual writing.
The Camelot Project - a database of Arthurian texts, images, and bibliographies in association with the University of Rochester