LibGuides: Engineering: Finding journal articles, conference proceedings and policy documents

Engineering databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Web of Science (All Subjects) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of high quality, peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data, full-length abstracts and links to cited references and citing articles.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of all articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery since 1947, covering computing and information technology.
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of 18 IMechE journals. Also includes the IMechE archive, giving access to the full text of all IMechE journals from 1847 to date now published by SAGE
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Lancaster University subscribes to the following collections:
*IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) - full text IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
*IEEE Standards Online - IEEE active, revised, archived, draft and redline versions
*Wake-up Radio
*Smart Grid Research
*MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection - full text access to all MIT Press ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 2015-2018
*IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library - full text access to all IEEE-Wiley ebook titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1872 to 2018
*Bell Labs Technical Journal - abstract records and full text articles published from 1922
*IBM Journal of Research and Development - abstract records and select full text published since 1957
*VDE VERLAG Conferences - abstract records and select full text published since 2005
*Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Computer Science eBooks Collection 2018
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Computer & Information Science eBooks Collections 5-8
*Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library eBooks Collections 8
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus is an authoritative collection of engineering standards, news, and insights — Designed by and exclusively for the ground vehicle and aerospace industries. Includes Standards, Journal Articles, Technical Papers and Magazines.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by the American Chemical Society
Overton.io This link opens in a new window
Overton is a searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 182 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
Scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact journals.
MathSciNet (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
First time users need to complete a registration process here.
Note: Use your Lancaster University email address to register.

Comprehensive information covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. It consists of CA Plus (formerly Chemical Abstracts) from 1907 onwards.
Guides on how to search and use SciFinder are available on their website.
ScienceOpen This link opens in a new window
Science Open is a research aggregator and open access publishing platform. It indexes over 30 million articles and records from all areas of modern science, the humanities and social sciences.
Features useful filters to limit by discipline, and to limit to content types such as pre-prints and open access articles.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier journals) This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of full-text journals, mainly in the sciences, but also includes other disciplines such as management, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology & Medicine 1780-1925 This link opens in a new window
A digitised archive of journals, books, reports, and personal documents that explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge, tracing the changes from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology.

Why should I use journal articles and conference papers?

It's important that you use journal articles and conference papers in your studies at University. They give you:

the most up-to-date research on a topic
coverage of a specialised subject
Original research, experiments and in-depth analysis

In computing, many academics publish in conference proceedings rather than in academic journals. You can search for both using the Library databases.

The University subscribes to subject specific databases which you can access using your Lancaster username and password wherever you are. Databases are the best way to find journal articles and conference papers on your topic as they index and provide access to articles from thousands of different journal titles and conference proceedings.

Lancaster University subscribes to around 250 databases but not all will be relevant for your topic. You can find the key databases for your subject below, or through the D atabases A-Z list.

Finding journal articles and conference papers through OneSearch

To get started you can use OneSearch to find and access journals and conference papers available through the Library. OneSearch covers all subject areas, so you may find you get a large number of results which you will then need to refine in order to be relevant to your topic.

Search tips for OneSearch:

Select the Articles & More tab then enter some keywords which describe the subject you are researching, or the specific article you are looking for.
Have a look at the short video tutorial below which show how to search for journals using Advanced Search in OneSearch.