LibGuides: History: Newspapers

Selection of Historical Newspaper Collections

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Le Monde Archive (1944-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Le Monde archive covers leading issues and events, such as World War II and the Fifth Republic, French, European and international politics, society and business. [Written in French]
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window As a new American nation emerged in the 1800s, the first draft of history was written by those who experienced it and recorded it in newspaper pages from coast to coast. Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America.
With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. Titles were selected by leading scholars of the nineteenth-century American press, and headnotes have been included for the individual titles.
Newspaper titles include:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737, are presented in digitized format here. The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.
The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.

The archive is a comprehensive mine of domestic and international political, religious, and cultural information of the period, and provides an insight into contemporary reactions, social engagement, and the public representation of key events and figures in a tumultuous era of English and European history.
Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear power. It also provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.

Text Indexing vs Digitised Reproduction

Our world news databases Nexis and Access World News index the text of a large range of publications (e.g. New York Times, Financial Times, etc), and allow you to cross-search many publications at once - but they don't include photographs, adverts, or any of these sorts of surrounding materials that may be of interest and use to a historical researcher.

For these materials, you are better consulting a primary sources database such as:

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search portal allowing searching across all Gale databases: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers (1732-1950), 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2013), The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010), and The Times Digital Archive (1785-2008).

There are many more primary sources available to you - you can search the collections here.

History: Newspapers

Using newspapers in your research

Selection of Historical Newspaper Collections

Text Indexing vs Digitised Reproduction

Support available

Need more help?