Carta Marina et descriptio septemtrionalium terrarum [...] Olaus Magnus, 1539, Uppsala University Library
There is so much out there to help you with your studies - the challenge lies in finding what you need, and evaluating the quality of sources amidst the huge array of materials available online. This can sometimes feel a bit like sailing into the unknown - but there are some strategies you can employ to help you navigate, including where you start your search.
This link opens in a new window
Where do I look?
As well as searching Onesearch, you might also want to target your search to more specific databases or primary source collections. A key skill in conducting research is being able to filter information effectively, and depending on your information need, you might approach how you begin your search differently (this is where discussing with a librarian can come in handy!)
What if I find something that isn't free to access?
Don't pay any charges for articles or other subscription fees without first checking with us! We can most likely obtain what you need:
You can search the Library collections with Onesearch - but be aware not everything we have access to is available via the Library catalogue. You can also search specialist subject databases, and Google Scholar - if you find articles that you can't access without paying for them, you can request the article here.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a search engine that indexes the content of scholarly material published on the Web and in electronic books and journals.
How do I find an ebook?
All ebooks are in OneSearch, and are linked to your reading list in Moodle if available. You can also search for ebooks within these large ebook Collections
Can I read an ebook if someone else is reading it?
Most ebooks allow more than one person to read them at the same time. Some ebooks do limit the number of simultaneous users and you may be prompted to try again later.
What devices can I use to access an ebook?
Any computer, ereader, mobile device, tablet or smartphone that has wi-fi or network capabilities and a web browser can access our ebooks online. These include:
A database is an organised collection of information, often searchable in different ways. Many of our databases allow you to search hundreds of different journals and books at the same time to find out what has been published on a topic, and some more specialist databases give access to particular types of information and resources - the library pays annual subscription fees for access to this.
Some of the kinds of things you might find in our databases include:
