LibGuides: Medicine: Evidence-based medicine

Trip Pro

Use Trip Pro to search quickly through the medical literature. Trip indicates how strong the evidence is, and allows you to refine your search by systematic review, controlled trials, guidelines and so on. Also a useful source of medical images and other media.

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care with a strong focus on highlighting evidence-based resources. Trip searches PubMed, National and International guidelines, systematic reviews, clinical trials databases, blogs, leaflets, primary research and much more.

Cochrane Collaboration

The Cochrane Collaboration
is an international organisation devoted to making evidence about effective health care accessible worldwide.
The Cochrane Library Reviews
Search for Systematic Reviews

Campbell Collaboration

Campbell Collaboration
provides systematic reviews of the evidence in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.

Other sources of evidence-based practice

Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
provides free support and resources to doctors, clinicians, teachers and others interested in learning more about EBM
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
At the University of York. Part of the National Institute for Health Research. Undertakes high quality systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health care.
EPPI-Centre
The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) - systematic reviews and review methods in social science and public policy.
Health Systems Evidence
From McMaster University in Canada. Health Systems Evidence is a continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Register to use - no charge,
Joanna Briggs Institute Systematic Reviews Register
Lancaster does not subscribe to JBI, but the register of systematic reviews be searched without a subscription, allowing you to see abstracts of studies.
National Elf Service
Accessible, usable appraisals of important new evidence written by a crowd-sourced network of clinical experts and researchers. Covers Mental Health, Social Care and Learning Disabilities, Dentistry and Musculoskeletal problems; more areas will be added over time. You can register for alerts.
PROSPERO: International prospective register of systematic reviews
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid unplanned duplication and enable comparison of reported review methods with what was planned in the protocol.
Students 4 Best Evidence
Students 4 Best Evidence (S4BE) is a growing network of students from around the world, from school age to university, who are interested in learning more about evidence-based healthcare (EBH).
Testing Treatments - Interactive
Includes the book “Testing Treatments”, and additional resources such as quizzes, videos and blogs

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care with a strong focus on highlighting evidence-based resources. Trip searches PubMed, National and International guidelines, systematic reviews, clinical trials databases, blogs, leaflets, primary research and much more.